The University of North Carolina at Greensboro

Library & Information Studies Resources: Welcome

UNCG LIS Department

The UNCG Department of Library and Information Studies (LIS) connects people, libraries, and information through research, teaching, and service to enrich living and working in a global environment.


Some Quick Links:


For more information from the Department, you can visit their website: http://lis.uncg.edu/

Intro to Canvas

Canvas is the Learning Management System used by UNCG to organize course content.

This Canvas Guide is intended as a quick start and introduction to navigating and using Canvas.

Welcome

Welcome LIS Students! This guide is meant to aid in your research both in attaining your MLIS as well as in your individual career paths. The goal is to provide an introduction into the world of Library and Information Studies by focusing on general resources, different types of libraries, and professional associations to help cultivate and grow your future careers as LIS professionals.

The guide is laid out as follows:

  • GENERAL RESOURCES: A list of generic resources that can help in any library settings as well as an introduction to NC LIVE. Five sub-pages divide resources by their relevant library type:
    • ACADEMIC LIBRARY RESOURCES: This page provides relevant databases, resources, and associations for those looking to cultivate a career in an academic setting (college, university, community college, etc.)
    • ARCHIVES AND SPECIAL COLLECTIONS: This page provides relevant databases, resources, and associations for those looking to cultivate a career in an archival setting whether within a university, cultural institution, governmental department, or other organizational settings.
    • PUBLIC LIBRARIES: This page provides relevant databases, resources, and associations for those looking to cultivate a career in public libraries whether in North Carolina or elsewhere.
    • SCHOOL MEDIA: This page provides relevant databases, resources, and associations for those looking to cultivate a career within a primary or secondary school setting.
    • SPECIAL LIBRARIES: This page provides relevant databases, resources, and associations for those looking to cultivate a career in a special library located in institutions such as hospitals, law firms, museums, etc.
  • TECHNOLOGY: A list of online tools organized by function and use.
  • LIBRARY ASSOCIATIONS: A list of professional associations that might be of interest for students to join to help jumpstart their professional career. The list includes North Carolina associations and national associations as well as specialized associations. The list is by no means all-inclusive, but meant to give a sampling of what is out there.
  • FINDING REVIEWS: A guide to find reviews for books and journals in various databases based on subject matter.
  • CITATION STYLES: A guide to writing citations in MLA, APA, and Chicago Style.

Subject Guide

Mike Crumpton
Contact:
208-D Jackson Library
336.256.1213
Website / Blog Page

How Do Students Use the Library?