Ask Us!
Searching Tips
When searching your topic try a variety of subject headings for the same idea e.g. teenagers, adolescents, youth, juveniles
Note the names of authors writing extensively on your subject. Then do an author search to search for other articles they may have written
Use search connectors, AND, OR as part of your search terms. When using AND and OR in the same search string, the OR clusters must be in parentheses () e.g. (teenagers or adolescents or juveniles) and (substance abuse or drug abuse)
Use Journal Finder if you already have a specific journal issue you want
Search Journal Finder
Finding Journal Articles
The databases below are subject guides to journals, magazines, newspapers, and so on. For more choices see the Library home page.
Note: if you already know the specific article you want, use Journal Finder. See the box on the left of this page.
- SocIndex with Full Text (SIFT) (EBSCO)-Coverage: all areas of sociology including criminology and criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, social development, social work, substance abuse, violence, etc.
-Considerable full text
-Abstracts from as far back as 1895; some full text from recent years - PsycINFO (EBSCO)-Some full text of journals and book chapters in psychology and related disciplines
-Selected topics: motivational and behavioral assessment, social psychology, community mental health, sociological factors affecting behavior, ect.
-Cited references: show citations or links to full text journal articles citing previously published items
-Dates of coverage: 1872+ - Humanities and Social Science Retrospective-Predecessor to SIFT covering older core social science journals
-Citations only. No full text
-Dates of coverage: 1907-1984 - JSTOR-Excellent full-text database covering hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities including most of the mainstream sociology journals
-Coverage begins with the first issue but does not include the last 1-7 years
-Dates of coverage: varies by title - Sociological Abstracts-Wide-ranging international coverage for journals, books, conference papers, and other materials
-1963+ - Lexis-Nexis Academic-Full-text articles from worldwide newspapers, media transcripts, newsletters, journals, etc.
-Especially important for current news stories and topics dealing with a particular geographic area
-Dates of coverage: varies by title - Ethnic NewsWatch-News and cultural materials from several hundred U.S. publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press
-Full text titles offer additional viewpoints from those of the mainstream press
-Dates of coverage: full text from the 1990's with a few as far back as the 1960's - Web of Science-Indexes thousands of peer-reviewed social science and science journals
-Citation search: shows references cited by the authors of the journal articles
-Cited reference search: finds articles citing a previously published article or book
-Dates of coverage: 1955+ - Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)-Large, interdisciplinary, full-text database covering a selection of journals from every field
-Coverage varies by title with some pdf content dating back as far as 1887 - Link to All EBSCO Databases-Simultaneously search any combination of 20+ available databases such as SocIndex Full Text, PsycINFO, Child Development and Family Studies, ERIC (education), etc.
Sociology Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Data Services Librarian |
Contact Info Stop by 106C Jackson Library, email me at lmkellam@uncg.edu, or text me at 336-303-8104. Text and email are the best modes of contact. I am not often in my office. Send Email |










Loading...
