Contents:
Journal Finder
Covers over 62,000 journals, magazines, and newspapers provided by the library or available for free.
What's New for 2013
Statista
- Includes data from over 18,000 government, industry, and market research sources.
- Also provides "dossier" collections of statistics, charts, and graphs on companies, industries, and markets, downloadable as PowerPoint files.
- Data can be exported to Excel and charts can be exported as picture files or directly into PowerPoint.
IBIS: 460 new specialized industry reports
- In addition to the 700+ NAICS industry reports, the library now also funds 460 specialized reports.

Ebsco app (free)
- Download articles & reports from Business Source Complete & other Ebsco databases from your Apple or Android device.
- To install, go to Ebsco's Academic Search Complete, select the app link at the bottom, and follow the directions.
Wall Street Journal headlines
Get any article from the WSJ for free from the library's Wall Street Journal (via ProQuest) subscription.
Loading...
Featured Video: Stock Analysis using UNCG Library Databases
Stock Analysis using Library Databases
This video shows you how to find stock analysis reports in the Morningstar, Mergent, Business & Company Resource Center (now Business Insights) databases.
Accounting & Tax Databases
- CCH IntelliConnect Includes tax codes, regulations, court cases, rulings, legislative documents, treaties, and IRS publications.
Also includes analysis from CCH. - RIA Checkpoint with AICPA & FASB Provides federal and state tax and accounting research from RIA and WG&L (35 concurrent users).
Also includes AICPA and FASB (2 users).
Article Databases
- Business Source Complete (Ebsco) Our largest database for business articles.
Covers scholarly journals, industry magazines, and general business magazines.
Also includes company, industry, and country reports. - General OneFile Covers 1000's of industry magazines, general business magazines, news wires, and scholarly journals.
- Wall Street Journal (via ProQuest) Provides the full text articles from the WSJ from 1982 to present.
- Small Business Reference Center (Ebsco)Provides articles, industry reports, sample business plans, legal guidebooks, U.S. tax forms, and videos.
- Web of Science (Social Science Citation Index)Indexes over 2,200 social science journals, including many in business.
Provides access to cited references, the footnotes to a scholarly article.
Covers 1955-present. - Google ScholarCovers ejournal websites, institutional and disciplinary repositories, and books.
Provides links to Journal Finder. (From off-campus, select "Scholar Preferences", search for "UNCG", select all the options, and "Save Preferences.")
On-campus users will often get straight to the fulltext if the UNCG library subscribes to that ejournal). - SSRN: Social Science Research NetworkProvides descriptions of working and forthcoming papers.
Also provides a "Electronic Paper Collection".
Some content requires a subscription.
UNCG doesn't have an institutional subscription, but check Journal Finder for any fee-based article you would like to see.
Corporate Financial Databases
- Mergent Online Provides detailed information on 15,000 U.S. public companies (active and inactive) and 20,000 public companies from over 80 other countries.
Also provides equity reports, global industry reports, SEC filings in many formats, executive biographies, historic annual reports, historic stock prices (graphs and tables), and more. - Hoovers + Duns Covers 19 million U.S. and 69 million international establishments.
- Business & Company Resource Center Provides downloadable financials for US and international public companies.
Provides easy comparisons to competitors.
Industry Ratios
Note that RMA & BizMiner are online; the other two sources are reference books in the library (first floor).
- RMA eStatement Studies Provides financial ratio benchmarks (FRB) and industry default probabilities (IDP), plus regional breakouts.
Covers around 340 U.S. industries, defined by NAICS codes.
RMA is the Risk Management Association. (Robert Morris and Associates once published this.) - BizMiner Provides ratios for 1000's industries. Look in the "Industry Financial Profiles" or "Micro Firm Profit & Loss Profiles."
- Duns Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios (reference book)Ask for this at the library's Reference/AskUs desk, on the first floor.
Provides 32 performance indicators for over 800 products and services, arranged by SIC code.
Covers the most industries of any ratio source. - Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios (reference book)In the library's reference room at Ref HF5681.R25 T68. Save time and ask at the Reference Desk to be shown this.
Provides 50 performance indicators for 192 industries, organized by NAICS code.
Provides the most ratios per industry of any ratio source.
Industry Reports
- IBISWorld Provides detailed U.S. industry reports at the 5-digit NAICS level (over 720 reports total).
- Mergent Online Provides reports on 20 industries for North America, Asia Pacific, Latin America, and Europe.
Look for these under the "Report Search" tab, and then the "Industry Reports" link. - Hoovers + Duns Provides the industry reports from First Research.
- Business Insights: Essentials Provides reports on over 2,500 global industries. Reports from other publishers are also available.
- Datamonitor/MarketLine Reports (via Business Source Complete) Provides over concise 2,500 industry profiles. Available through Ebsco Business Source Complete.
- Small Business Reference Center (Ebsco)Provides industry reports from various publishers. Browsable by industry
- Manufacturing & Distribution USA Provides statistics, financial trends, and leading companies on 460 U.S. industries, listed by NAICS codes.
(6th edition, 2011) - Euromonitor Passport GMID Provides reports on international consumer-oriented industries.
Particularly useful for the apparel, retailing, food, drink, consumer electronics, toys, travel, and personal care products industries.
Investment Databases
- Morningstar Investment Research Center Database Covers all stocks on the NYSE, NASDAQ, and ASE, and also 14,000 mutual funds.
Provides stock, fund, bond, and options data, plus Morningstar Analyst Reports, screeners, a portfolio x-ray, & more. - Mergent Online Provides detailed information on 15,000 U.S. public companies (active and inactive) and 20,000 public companies from over 80 other countries.
Also provides equity reports, global industry reports, SEC filings in many formats, executive biographies, historic annual reports, historic stock prices (graphs and tables), and more. - Business Insights: Essentials Includes analyst reports from assorted investment firms.
- LexisNexis AcademicIncludes Vickers Securities Reports, Zacks Consensus Earnings Projections, and Nelson's Company Research.
- Yahoo! Finance Historical QuotesCoverage of some stocks goes back to 1970.
Data can be downloaded into a spreadsheet (look for the link under the chart).
Business Librarian: |
|








Loading...
