The University of North Carolina at Greensboro
This is the "Alumni Access" page of the "Alumni Access to Business Databases?" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Alumni Access to Business Databases?  

Last Updated: Mar 5, 2013 URL: http://uncg.libguides.com/alumniaccess Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Alumni Access Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

NC LIVE business databases

NC LIVE is a collection of databases available through all North Carolina public libraries. If you have a public library card, you can access NC LIVE databases remotely.

NC LIVE Business Databases

Hoovers with Duns data

Business Source Complete

SimplyMap

Morningstar

Wall Street Journal

Small Business Resource Center

Legal Information Resource Center

& Entrepreneurship Studies Source

 

FAQ

Can alumni access the library's business research databases from outside the library?

I'm sorry, no. In their licensing contracts for universities, database vendors limit access to current students, faculty, and staff.

Why?

Most of the vendors also sell their content to companies and business people, and want to preserve those lucrative markets.

What if I'm a Friend of the Library?

While Friends are able to check out books, they still can't access library databases from off campus. It's the same vendor restriction to current students, faculty, and staff. Sorry!

Can alumni access the library's business research databases from within the library?

Yes, for most databases. We provide guest computers for alumni researchers.

Is there alternative access for business databases?

Yes, NC LIVE and the local public libraries. See the links on the left and below for details.

I'm a student about to graduate. When do I lose off-campus access?

When your Genie account is closed out. Off-campus authentication is run through Genie.

Public Library databases

The public libraries in Guilford County subscribe to additional business databases, and also provide smart and friendly business librarians.

Business Librarian:

Profile Image
Steve Cramer

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip