The University of North Carolina at Greensboro
This is the "Home" page of the "Using Life and Health Science Databases After Graduation?" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Using Life and Health Science Databases After Graduation?   Tags: alumni, databases  

Information about access to life and health science databases and other online library resources after graduation.
Last Updated: Jul 30, 2013 URL: http://uncg.libguides.com/alumniaccesssci Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

NC LIVE Databases

NC LIVE is a collection of online databases and media available through North Carolina public libraries. If you have a library card for one of the public library members, you can access NC LIVE databases remotely. No charge!

Science & Technology

Nursing and Allied Health

North Carolina Area Health Education Centers

The North Carolina AHEC & Library System serves "the information needs of North Carolina's health professionals." Visit an AHEC library in person to do your research for free OR subscribe to the AHEC digital library for remote access to online resources from that library system.

  • Find an AHEC Library
    Contact info and websites for the nine regional AHEC libraries.
  • NC AHEC Digital Library
    Online information resources for N.C. health professionals and students. Some free, but some require a subscription for off-site access.
 

FAQ

Can alumni access the library's online databases, articles, e-books, etc. from outside the library?

I'm sorry, no. In their licensing contracts for universities, database vendors limit access to current students, faculty, and staff.

Why not?

Most of the vendors also sell their content to others, and want to preserve those lucrative markets.

What if I'm a Friend of the Library?

While Friends are able to check out books, they still can't access library databases from off campus. This page describes borrowing privileges for Friends of the Library and non-UNCG patrons.

Can alumni access the library's databases from within the library?

Yes, for most databases. We provide guest computers for alumni researchers. These computers do not have Microsoft Office.

Is there alternative access for databases?

Yes, NC LIVE and NC AHEC. See the links on the left for details.

I'm a student about to graduate. When do I lose off-campus access?

When your Genie account is closed out. Off-campus authentication is run through Genie. Contact 6-TECH (336/256-8324) to ask about the status of your Genie account.

Health Sciences Librarian

Profile Image
Lea Leininger
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip