General APA Guide
What's New for 2013
Statista
- Includes data from over 18,000 government, industry, and market research sources.
- Also provides "dossier" collections of statistics, charts, and graphs on companies, industries, and markets, downloadable as PowerPoint files.
- Data can be exported to Excel and charts can be exported as picture files or directly into PowerPoint.
IBIS: 460 new specialized industry reports
- In addition to the 700+ NAICS industry reports, the library now also funds 460 specialized reports.

Ebsco app (free)
- Download articles & reports from Business Source Complete & other Ebsco databases from your Apple or Android device.
- To install, go to Ebsco's Academic Search Complete, select the app link at the bottom, and follow the directions.
What is EndNote?
Guide to EndNote Web (the online version)
Guide to EndNote X3 (the full-feature desktop version)
What is Endnote?
EndNote allows you to import citations from library databases or Google Scholar. You can then use EndNote with MS Word to automatically create in text citations and bibliographies in hundreds of different citation styles. UNCG provides current students and employees with access to two versions of EndNote.
EndNote X3 is an application installed on computers in campus computer labs. Features:
- You can import references from most library databases, from the library catalog, and from Google Scholar
- Your references are stored in an "Endnote Library" file (.enl) that resides on your computer
- You can attach pdf files to references in your EndNote library
- You can organize your references into folders within your EndNote library
- You can customize your EndNote library to display the full names of journals in references imported from PubMed
- You can use the EndNote tab in MS Word to insert citations from your library, to auto-generate a bibliography, and to switch between citation styles
- Up to 30 people at one time may use this application
EndNote Web is a site where you can create your own account to upload, organize, share, and format citations. Features:
- You can import references from most library databases, from the library catalog, and from Google Scholar
- Your references are stored in your account at http://www.myendnoteweb.com
- You can share your references with other EndNote Web users and allow them to edit your references
- You can NOT attach pdf files to these references
Example Citations
Academic Search Complete
Annual reports
BizMiner
Business Insights
Business Source Complete
CCH IntelliConnect
Census.gov
Commodity & industry codes
Comtrade
Consumer Expenditure Survey (BLS)
Country Commercial Guides
Datamonitor Reports (Business Source Complete)
DemographicsNow
EconLit
EDGAR (S.E.C.)
Entrepreneurial Studies Source
Euromonitor Passport GMID
Europa World
Fashion Snoops
General Onefile
GTIS: U.S. State Export Edition
Historical Statistics of the United States
Hospitality and Tourism Complete
Hoover's
IBIS Industry Market Research
Legal Information Reference Center
LexisNexis Academic
Mergent Online
Mintel
Morningstar
National Trade Estimate Report on Foreign Trade Barriers
OECD iLibrary
OneSource Global
PC/TAS
RIA Checkpoint
RMA eStatement Studies
SimplyMap
Small Business Reference Center
Statista
USITC Trade Database
Wall Street Journal (via Proquest)
Web sites
World DataBank
As much as possible, these examples follow the 2007 APA Style Guide to Electronic References, which has been incorporated into the 6th (2010) edition of the APA Manual. The APA Style Guide to Electronic References states "With the exception of hard-to-find books and other documents of limited circulation delivered by electronic databases, the database name is no longer a necessary element of the reference. If you do include the database name in a reference, do not include the database URL" (p. 2, emphasis mine). I decided to include database names when the database URL would not be distinctive (ex. Ebsco and Gale databases).
Academic Search Complete
Robie, C., Emmons, T., Tuzinski, K. A., & Kantrowitz, T. (2011). Effects of an
economic recession on leader personality and general mental ability scores.
International Journal of Selection & Assessment, 19(2),
183-189. doi:10.1111/j.1468-2389.2011.00545.x
Benesh, C. (2009). Contempoary Japanese Fashion. Ornament, 33(2), 18-19.
Retrieved from Academic Search Complete database.
[APA wants you to use the DOI (Digitial Object Identifier) when provided; then
you don't name the database nor provide its URL.]
Annual Reports
Wells Fargo. (2010). 2009 Annual report. Retrieved from
https://www.wellsfargo.com/downloads/pdf/invest_relations/wf2009annualreport.pdf.
BizMiner
BizMiner. (2011). Aerobic dance and exercise classes: industry financial profile (5 year).
Retrieved April 5, 2011 from https://www.bizminer.com/.
Business Insights
Gale Group. (2011). Facebook, Inc. [company profile]. Retrieved March 28, 2011,
from the Business Insights database.
Gale Group. (2008). Facebook, Inc. International directory of company histories.
Retrieved March 28, 2011, from the Business Insights database.
Gale Group. (2011). Social Media. Encyclopedia of emerging industries. Retrieved March
28, 2011, from the Business Insights database.
Miller, C.C. (2008, December 5). Twitter's dance With Facebook. New York Times,
p. B6. Retrieved from the Business Insights database.
"Top social networking sites worldwide, 2007" (2007, November 1). Wall Street
Journal, p. B3. Reproduced in Market share reporter 2009 . Retrieved from the
Business Insights database.
Global Markets Direct. (2011). Apple Inc. - financial and strategic analysis review.
Retrieved March 28, 2011, from the Business Insights database. [This is for the SWOT analyses]
Business Source Complete
Quittner, J. (2011, April 4). Facebook and Google encroach on banks' turf. American Banker,
176(51), 1-5. Retrieved from Business Source Complete database.
Datamonitor. (2011, May 13). Bayerische Motoren Werke company profile. Retrieved
from Business Source Complete database.
Datamonitior. (2010, June). Toys & Games in Asia-Pacific industry profile.
Retrieved from Business Source Complete database.
PRS Group. (2010, November 1). Brazil Country Report, Political Risk Yearbook.
Retrieved from Business Source Complete database.
CCH IntelliConnect
Garrison, L. (2003). Tax incentives for doing business on Indian reservations.
The Tax Magazine, 80 (5), 39. Retrieved from http://tax.cchgroup.com/.
Braitman, M. B. et al. (2008, December). Worker, retiree, and employer recovery
act of 2008: law, explanation & analysis. Retrieved from http://tax.cchgroup.com/.
Census.gov
Population data:
U.S. Census Bureau. (2005-09). Guildford County, North Carolina -- Income in
the Past 12 Months. [Table]. Retrieved from http://factfinder.census.gov/.
Economic Census:
U.S. Census Bureau. (2007). Retail Trade: Geographic Area Series: Summary
Statistics for the United States, States, Metro Areas, Counties, and Places:
2007. [Table]. Retrieved from http://factfinder.census.gov/.
County Business Patterns:
U.S. Census Bureau. (2009). Forsyth County, North Carolina -- 2009 County
Business Patterns (NAICS). [Table]. Retrieved from http://censtats.census.gov/.
Commodity & Industry Codes
Harmonized codes:
U.S. Census Bureau. (2011). Schedule B 20, Chapter 60. Retrieved from
http://www.census.gov/foreign-trade/schedules/b/2011/c60.pdf
NAICS codes:
U.S. Census Bureau. (2007). 2007 NAICS definitions, 448110, Men's Clothing Stores.
Retrieved from http://www.census.gov/eos/www/naics/htmls/4/448110.htm.
SIC codes:
Occupational Safety & Health Administration, U.S. Department of Labor. (1987).
SIC description for 2251. Retrieved from
http://www.osha.gov/pls/imis/sic_manual.display?id=488&tab=description.
SITC codes:
United Nations Statistical Division. (2011). SITC rev. 4 code 573.11. Retrieved from
http://unstats.un.org/unsd/cr/registry/regcs.asp?Cl=28&Lg=1&Co=573.11.
Comtrade
United Nations Statistical Division. (2011). Data retrieved February 10, 2011,
from http://comtrade.un.org/.
Consumer Expenditure Survey (BLS)
Bureau of Labor Statistics. (2009). Race of reference person: Shares of average
annual expenditures and sources of income, Consumer Expenditure Survey
[Table]. Retrieved from http://www.bls.gov/cex/.
Country Commercial Guides
U.S. Commerical Service, Department of Commerce. (2011, March 4). Argentina.
Country Commercial Guide. Retrieved from http://www.buyusainfo.net/.
Datamonitor Reports (from Business Source Complete)
Datamonitor. (2011, May 13). Bayerische Motoren Werke company profile. Retrieved
from Business Source Complete database.
Datamonitior. (2010, June). Toys & Games in Asia-Pacific industry profile.
Retrieved from Business Source Complete database.
DemographicsNow
DemographicsNow. (2011). Data retrieved March 31, 2011, from
http://library.demographicsnow.com/.
EconLit
Herrman, M. (2010). Monopoly pricing of an antibiotic subject to bacterial
resistance. Journal of Health Economics, 29, 137-50.
doi:http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.jhealeco.2009.11.007.
[EconLit usually provides the DOI (Digitial Object Identifier), which APA
requires you to use instead of "Retrieved from EconLit."]
EDGAR (S.E.C.)
General Electric. (2011, March 31). 10-Q. Retrieved from http://www.sec.gov/.
Entrepreneurial Studies Source
Handley, L. (2011). Consumers use smartphones to make tills ring. Marketing Week,
34(15), 22-24. Retrieved from Entrepreneurial Studies Source database.
Datamonitor. (2007). Tata Tea Case Study: Developing a Multinational Beverage
Offering, 1-8. Retrieved from Entrepreneurial Studies Source database.
Simmons, J. (2007). GBS: My Sister's a Barista Starbucks. Marshall Cavendish Limited.
Retrieved from Entrepreneurial Studies Source database. [For an ebook]
Euromonitor Passport GMID
Euromonitor. (2011). Data retrieved March 22, 2011, from
http://www.portal.euromonitor.com/.
Euromonitor. (2010, March 2). Retailing - Egypt . Retrieved from
http://www.portal.euromonitor.com/.
Europa World
German, R.& Taylor, E. (n.d.). Economy - Egypt. Retrieved July 10, 2011, from
http://www.europaworld.com/.
Fashion Snoops
Fashion Snoops. (2011). Men Active Wear Design Themes Fall/Winter 2012/2013.
Retrieved July 1, 2011 from Fashion Snoops Database.
General OneFile
Socha, M. (2011, June 27). Gaytten takes reins At galliano. WWD, 201, 131. p.2.
Retrieved July 07, 2011, from General OneFile database.
GTIS: U.S. State Export Edition
Global Trade Information Services. (2010). Data retrieved March 12, 2010,
from http://www.globaltradestatistics.com/state/.
Historical Statistics of the United States
Historical Statistics of the United States Millennial Edition Online. (2006).
Female-to-male earnings ratios: 1815-1987 [Table]. Retrieved from
http://hsus.cambridge.org/.
Margo, R. (2006). Wages and wage inequality. In Historical Statistics of the
United States Millennial Edition Online. Retrieved from
http://hsus.cambridge.org/. [This cite is for an essay, not a table]
Hospitality and Tourism Complete
Millar, M., & Baloglu, S. (2011). Hotel guests’ preferences for green guest
room attributes. Cornell Hospitality Quarterly, 52(3), 302-311.
doi:10.1177/1938965511409031.
Connolly, D. (2009, January 7). Lodging sustainability is about much more
than just being green. Hotel Business, 18(1), 6. Retrieved from
Hospitality & Tourism Complete.
Hoover's
Hoover's. (2012, January 15). Apple Computer, Inc. Retrieved from Hoover's
database.
IBIS Industry Market Research
IBIS. (2011, June). Family clothing stores in the US. Retrieved from
http://www.ibisworld.com/.
Legal Information Reference Center
DelPo, A. and Guerin, L. (2010). The Manager's Legal Handbook. Berkeley: Nolo.
Retrieved from Legal Information Reference Center database.
[You may have to look up the author yourself in Amazon or Google Books.]
LexisNexis Academic
Murphy, R. (2007, August 7). Fashion brands use scarcity as strategy with limited
editions. Women’s Wear Daily, 194(27), 1-18. Retrieved from LexisNexis
Academic database.
Hoover's. (2011, July 5). Apple Computer, Inc. Hoover's Company Records -
In-Depth Records. Retrieved from LexisNexis Academic database.
Mergent Online
Mergent. (2011). Apple Inc. Company Financials. Retrieved March 6, 2011, from
http://www.mergentonline.com/.
Mergent. (2011). Asia-Pacific Media Sectors. Retrieved June 7, 2011, from
http://www.mergentonline.com/.
Mintel
Mintel. (2011, February). Breakfast restaurant trends. Retrieved from
from http://academic.mintel.com/.
Morningstar
Morningstar. (2011). Vanguard Global Equity [mutual fund report]. Retrieved
March 23, 2011, from http://library.morningstar.com/.
Morningstar. (2011). Krispy Kreme Doughnut [stock data]. Retrieved
March 3, 2011, from http://library.morningstar.com/.
Whiston, D. (2011, June 24). Ford Motor Company analyst note. Retrieved
August 23, 2011, from http://library.morningstar.com/.
National Trade Estimate Report on Foreign Trade Barriers
Office of the United States Trade Representative. (2011). Brazil. National trade
estimate report on foreign trade barriers. Retrieved from http://www.ustr.gov/.
OECD iLibrary
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. (2011). Main economic
indicators. Data retrieved August 2, 2011 from http://www.oecd-ilibrary.org/.
International Energy Agency, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.
(2011). World energy outlook 2011. Retrieved from http://www.oecd-ilibrary.org/.
OneSource Global
OneSource Global. (2011). Jiji Press Ltd [company profile]. Retrieved March 22,
2011, from OneSource Global database.
Risk Management Association. (2011). Financial ratio benchmarks for NAICS 443112.
Retrieved January 10, 2011 from OneSource Global database.
Datamonitor. (2010, October). Airlines in Chile [industry profile]. Retrieved from
OneSource Global database.
PC/TAS (CD-ROM)
International Trade Centre, United Nations Statistical Division. (2010). Data
retrieved March 10, 2011, from the Trade Analysis System database.
RIA Checkpoint
RIA. (2009). 2010 RIA federal tax handbook. Retrieved from RIA Checkpoint
database.
Murthy, V. (2008, January/February). Why paying severance has become like
walking a tax law minefield. Journal of Corporate Taxation, 2008, 40-44.
Retrieved from RIA Checkpoint database.
RMA eStatement Studies
Risk Management Association. (2011). Financial ratio benchmarks for NAICS
312130. Retrieved January 31, 2011 from RMA eStatement Studies database.
SimplyMap
Geographic Research. (2011). Imported Beer/Ale: Drank in Last 6 Months.
Mediamark data retrieved March 10, 2011, from http://www.simplymap.com/.
Geographic Research. (2011). Map based on Family Income : $150,000+, from
Census data, downloaded March 10, 2011, from http://www.simplymap.com/.
Small Business Reference Center
Mancuso, A. (2009). Incorporate your business. Berkeley: Nolo. Retrieved from
Small Business Reference Center database. [For an ebook]
Miller, R.K. and Washington, K. (2011). Chapter 45: the bridal & wedding market.
Retail Business Market Research Handbook, 286-289. Retrieved from the Small
Business Reference Center database. [For an industry report]
Checket-Hanks, B. B. (2009). Green Economy Offers 'New Deal' for Contractors.
Air Conditioning Heating & Refrigeration News, 238(4), 1-17. Retrieved from the
Small Business Reference Center database. [For an article]
Statista
National Bureau of Statistics of China. (2012, December). Amount of text messages
sent in China from November 2011 to November 2012 (in billions). Retrieved
January 2, 2013 from Statista database.
Statista. (2012). Beer production and distribution - Statista dossier 2012. Retrieved
January 2, 2013 from Statista database.
USITC Trade Database
United States International Trade Commission. (2011). Trade data retrieved
March 11, 2011, from http://dataweb.usitc.gov/.
Wall Street Journal (via Proquest)
DeYoung, R. (2009, April 14). Congress takes aim at payday loans. Wall Street
Journal, A13.. Retrieved from ProQuest Wall Street Journal database.
Web Sites
Ford Motor Company. (2011). Sustainability. Retrieved March 10, 2011,
from http://corporate.ford.com/about-ford/sustainability.
World DataBank
World Bank. (2011). Data retrieved March 2, 2011, from World DataBank
database.
Business Librarian: |
|








Loading...
