The University of North Carolina at Greensboro
This is the "Home" page of the "Art Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Art Resources   Tags: art, art_history, museum_studies  

Last Updated: Oct 2, 2013 URL: http://uncg.libguides.com/art Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

ART courses

Some of the ART classes I have taught about using the resources of the Libraries

 

  Ask Us!

The person you're chatting with in this box may not be the person you see on this page, but we can still help you!

 

On Being a Reference Librarian

 

Welcome !!

 

Most important ART resources

These are some of the best resources to use when looking for articles:

Art Index and Art Index Retrospective

  • Over 400 leading publications in the world of the arts, over 415,000 articles
  • Covers 1929 to present.

Art and Architecture Complete

  • Provides full-text coverage of 380 periodicals and more than 220 books. In addition, this database offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 780 academic journals, magazines and trade publications, as well as for over 230 books.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals

  • Provides citations to articles from over 2,500 architecture journals and magazines from around the world.
  • Covers architecture, design, archaeology, historic preservation, decorative arts, interior design, furniture, landscape architecture, city planning, and environmental studies.


Bibliography of the history of art : BHA
 

         
Books, journal articles, conference proceedings, dissertations, festschriften, exhibition catalogs, reviews, and dealers' catalogs covering European and American visual arts from late antiquity to present.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)

  • Our largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary, full text database.
  • Abstracts and indexes over 12,500 journals (over 8,500 of those are peer-reviewed).
  • Provides the full text of nearly 9,000 journals (over 7,600 of those are peer-reviewed).
  • More info

JSTOR

  • Contains the full text of 191 journals in art and art history, starting with their first issues through 3-5 years ago. If you are getting too many extraneous results, do an advanced search and limit to Art and Art History.

Finding Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers

To get into a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper:

1. You can search worldcat for the journal title. Limit to UNCG and Journal,magazine

2. You can search journal title in the Journal A to Z list

Please note that some journals, magazines, and newspapers have changed names over time.  If you want to find the evening edition of the Greensboro newspaper from 1910, type the title from that time: Greensboro Record.

      

    My Profile

    Profile Image
    Mark Schumacher
    Contact Info
    Phone: (336) 334-3215
    151 Jackson Library

    mark_schumacher@uncg.edu
     

    Mark on Facebook

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip