The University of North Carolina at Greensboro
This is the "Home" page of the "BIO 430 Biological Evolution" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

BIO 430 Biological Evolution   Tags: bio, bio_430, biology, biology_430, darwin  

Resources for finding definitions and images for BIO 430 Biological Evolution
Last Updated: Aug 24, 2012 URL: http://uncg.libguides.com/bio430 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Definitions and Background Information

Origin of the Species includes many terms not in use today, either because word spelling has changed (teazel or teazle is now spelled teasel) or because the terms are no longer commonly used (most of us are more familiar with a microwave than with a turnspit dog).

  • Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
    32 volume encyclopedia from Wiley.
  • Oxford Reference Online
    A good place to look for archaic words and spellings. It includes the Concise Oxford English Dictionary and other dictionaries and guides, but not the famous Oxford English Dictionary (OED).
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)
    Includes the famous Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia. Search by common name (barnacles) or parts of the scientific name (Thecostraca)
 

Find Pictures to Accompany Darwin Readings

Google Image Advanced Search - limit to results labeled ok for re-use

NYPL DigitalGallery
New York Public Library archival items.
Top right corner of the page lets you search the entire collection by keyword (like bantam).
To look through images from Zoologies and Natural Histories, follow the Nature & Science link on the left side of the page.
Prints and Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC)
Guide to images held by the Library of Congress. Many records include thumbnail images.

The library has a few pictorial works specifically about Darwin's work:

  • Darwin's pictures : views of evolutionary theory, 1837-1874 / Julia Voss ; translated by Lori Lantz. QH366.2 .V67413 2010
  • The illustrated origin of species / by Charles Darwin ; abridged & introduced by Richard E. Leakey ; consultants, W. F. Bynum, J. A. Barrett. QH365 .O2 1979
  • Darwin's camera : art and photography in the theory of evolution / Phillip Prodger. QH365.Z9 P76 2009

Health Sciences Librarian

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip