This is the "Databases" page of the "Business Administration Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Business Administration Resources   Tags: business, companies, industries, management, marketing  

Last Updated: Mar 16, 2012 URL: http://uncg.libguides.com/bus Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Journal Finder

Journal Finder

Covers over 60,000 journals, magazines, and newspapers provided by the library or available for free.

 

What's New in 2012

4 new databases:

Hoovers with Duns data

Small Business Resource Center

Legal Information Resource Center

& Entrepreneurial Studies Source (sorry, no logo)

And an upgrade:

Business Source Premier is now:
Business Source Complete
More journals, magazines, industry reports, etc.

SWOT databases

Places to find SWOT analyses:

(Video on finding these)

 

Wall Street Journal headlines

Get any article from the WSJ for free from the library's Wall Street Journal (via ProQuest) subscription.

Loading Loading...
 
 View Feed
blank padding
 

Harvard Business Review: new articles

Get any article from the Harvard Business Review in the library's Business Source Complete database.

Loading Loading...
 
 View Feed
blank padding
 

Ask Us!

Chat requires JavaScript. If you are seeing this, we may be offline. Please check back later.
 

Have feedback on this page?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

Featured Video: SWOT Analyses using UNCG Library Databases

SWOT videoFinding SWOTs from Three Library Databases

This video shows you how to find SWOT analyses in the Business Source Complete, Business & Company Resource Center, and Euromonitor Passport GMID databases.

Article Databases

  • Business Source Complete (Ebsco)  
      
      
    Rating
    Our largest database for business articles.
    Covers scholarly journals, industry magazines, and general business magazines.
    Also includes company, industry, and country reports.
  • General OneFile  
      
      
    Rating
    Covers 1000's of industry magazines, general business magazines, news wires, and scholarly journals.
  • Wall Street Journal (via ProQuest)  
      
      
    Rating
    Provides the full text articles from the WSJ from 1982 to present.
    See below for older WSJ articles.
  • Small Business Reference Center (Ebsco)  
    Rating
    Provides articles, industry reports, sample business plans, legal guidebooks, U.S. tax forms, and videos.
  • LexisNexis Academic  
      
      
    Rating
    Covers international business newspapers, newswires, press releases, newsletters, and some industry magazines.
  • Greater Triad Business Journal/American City Business Journals  
    Rating
    Provides the Greater Triad Area Business Journal, the Charlotte Business Journal, the Triangle Business Journal (Raleigh/Durham), and the other business newspapers from this publisher.
    Includes the Book of Lists for all the cities covered.
  • Regional Business News (Ebsco)  
    Rating
    Covers over 80 U.S. regional and local business newspapers, and some U.S. business newswires.
  • Web of Science (Social Science Citation Index)  
    Rating
    Indexes over 2,200 social science journals, including many in business.
    Provides access to cited references, the footnotes to a scholarly article.
    Covers 1955-present.
  • Google Scholar  
    Rating
    Covers ejournal websites, institutional and disciplinary repositories, and books.
    Provides links to Journal Finder. (From off-campus, select "Scholar Preferences", search for "UNCG", select all the options, and "Save Preferences.")
    On-campus users will often get straight to the fulltext if the UNCG library subscribes to that ejounal).
  • SSRN: Social Science Research Network  
    Rating
    Provides descriptions of working and forthcoming papers.
    Also provides a "Electronic Paper Collection".
    Some content requires a subscription.
    UNCG doesn't have an institutional subscription, but check Journal Finder for any fee-based article you would like to see.

Industry Databases

  • IBISWorld  
      
      
    Rating
    Provides detailed U.S. industry reports at the 5-digit NAICS level (over 720 reports total).
  • BizMiner  
      
      
    Rating
    Provides detailed financials for business plans and industry research.
    Covers 16,000 industries at national and regional levels.
  • Datamonitor Reports (via Business Source Complete)  
      
      
    Rating
    Provides over 2,500 global industry profiles. Reports from other publishers are available, too.
  • Hoovers + Duns  
      
      
    Rating
    Provides First Research industry reports.
  • Small Business Reference Center (Ebsco)  
    Rating
    Provides industry reports from various publishers. Browsable by industry.
  • Business & Company Resource Center  
      
      
    Rating
    Provides reports on over 1,000 US and international industries.
  • Mergent Online  
      
      
    Rating
    Provides reports on 20 industries for North America, Asia Pacific, Latin America, and Europe.
    Look for these under the "Report Search" tab, and then the "Industry Reports" link.
  • Euromonitor Passport GMID  
      
      
    Rating
    Provides reports on international consumer-oriented industries.
    Particularly useful for the apparel, retailing, food, drink, consumer electronics, toys, travel, and personal care products industries.
  • Mintel  
      
      
    Rating
    Provides market and consumer research reports with a focus on the U.S. and Europe.
    Also includes reports on the African-American, Asian-American, & U.S. Hispanic markets.
    Requires you to set up a free profile the first time.
  • Manufacturing & Distribution USA  
      
      
    Rating
    Provides statistics, financial trends, and leading companies on 460 U.S. industries, listed by NAICS codes.
    (6th edition, 2011)

Industry Ratios

Note that RMA & BizMiner are online; the other two sources are reference books in the library (first floor).

  • RMA eStatement Studies  
      
      
    Rating
    Provides financial ratio benchmarks (FRB) and industry default probabilities (IDP), plus regional breakouts.
    Covers around 340 U.S. industries, defined by NAICS codes.
    RMA is the Risk Management Association. (Robert Morris and Associates once published this.)
  • BizMiner  
      
      
    Rating
    Provides ratios for 1000's industries. Look in the "Industry Financial Profiles" or "Micro Firm Profit & Loss Profiles."
  • Duns Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios (reference book)
    Ask for this at the library's Reference/AskUs desk, on the first floor.
    Provides 32 performance indicators for over 800 products and services, arranged by SIC code.
    Covers the most industries of any ratio source.
  • Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios (reference book)
    In the library's reference room at Ref HF5681.R25 T68. Save time and ask at the Reference Desk to be shown this.
    Provides 50 performance indicators for 192 industries, organized by NAICS code.
    Provides the most ratios per industry of any ratio source.

Management Databases

Market Research Databases

  • Mintel  
      
      
    Rating
    Provides market and consumer research reports with a focus on the U.S. and Europe.
    Also includes reports on the African-American, Asian-American, & U.S. Hispanic markets.
    Requires you to set up a free profile the first time.
  • Euromonitor Passport GMID  
      
      
    Rating
    Provides reports and data on countries, companies, markets, consumers, and cities.
    Particularly useful for the apparel, retailing, food, drink, consumer electronics, toys, travel, and personal care products industries.
  • IBISWorld  
      
      
    Rating
    Provides detailed U.S. industry reports at the 5-digit NAICS level (over 720 reports total).
  • DemographicsNow  
      
      
    Rating
    Covers population, age, race and ethnicity, income, housing, employment characteristics, and consumer expenditures for U.S. places.
    Places can be compared and ranked.
    Provides tables, maps, and download options.
  • SimplyMap  
      
      
    Rating
    Develop thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data (including MRI/Mediamark) variables.
    Each user accesses SimplyMap through a "personal workspace"; you will need to create an account the first time you use it.
  • American FactFinder, U.S. Census Bureau  
      
      
    Rating
    The Census' search engine for population, housing, and economic data.

Private Company Databases

Public Company Databases

  • Mergent Online  
      
      
    Rating
    Provides detailed information on 15,000 U.S. public companies (active and inactive) and 20,000 public companies from over 80 other countries.
    Also provides equity reports, global industry reports, SEC filings in many formats, executive biographies, historic annual reports, historic stock prices (graphs and tables), and more.
  • Hoovers + Duns  
      
      
    Rating
    Covers 19 million U.S. and 69 million international establishments.
  • Datamonitor Reports (via Business Source Complete)  
      
      
    Rating
    Provides over 10,000 international company profiles (many including a SWOT analysis).
  • Business & Company Resource Center  
      
      
    Rating
    A one-stop-shopping database for company and business research. Includes many SWOT analyses.
  • Morningstar Investment Research Center Database  
      
      
    Rating
    Covers all stocks on the NYSE, NASDAQ, and ASE, and also 14,000 mutual funds.
    Provides stock, fund, bond, and options data, plus Morningstar Analyst Reports, screeners, a portfolio x-ray, & more.
  • Euromonitor Passport GMID  
      
      
    Rating
    Covers international companies in consumer-oriented industries including retailing, travel, food and drink, electronics, and others. Includes some SWOT analyses.
  • International Directory of Company Histories  
    Rating
    Covers over 10,000 companies. Includes updates, so look for the most recent history of any company.

Trade Data Databases

More options for trade data

Business & CARS librarian:

 
Location: Walter Clinton Jackson Library
320 College Avenue, Greensboro NC 27412-0001
Mailing address: PO Box 26170, Greensboro NC 27402-6170
Telephone: 336.334.5304 or 888.245.0180
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip