Electronic Encyclopdedias and books
- EROS - Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis
•Coverage of reagents used in organic synthesis - Combined Chemical Dictionary
•Provides descriptive and numerical data on chemical, physical and biological properties of compounds; systematic and common names of compounds; literature references; structure diagrams and their associated connection tables. - Dictionary of Natural Products
A comprehensive database of 170,000 natural products which includes: names and synonyms, formulae, chemical structures, CAS Registry Numbers, etc. - CRCnetBase
•Contains several chemistry dictionaries and handbooks - Encyclopedia of Genetics, Genomics, Proteomics and Bioinformatics
•The focus is on studies based on the human and mouse genomes, but other important model eukaryotes, as well as pathogenic bacteria, are given in-depth coverage - Burger's Medicinal Chemistry and Drug Discovery
•Reference material for practicing medicinal chemists and others areas such as organic chemistry, biochemistry, pharmacology, biology, computational chemistry, biophysics and pharmaceutics - Hutchinson Pocket Dictionary of Chemistry
•Contains brief definitions of a variety of terms relating to chemistry.
•Key words in each definition are linked to their definition.
•Published in 2004. - Oxford Dictionary of Chemistry
•Also includes other Oxford science dictionaries - Directory of Graduate Research
•Premier source of information on chemical research and researchers at universities in the United States and Canada.
Comments (0)
OneSearch - Searches Books and Articles
Chemistry and Biochemistry Databases
- Scifinder Scholar
•The online version of Chemical Abstracts
•For access information, please inquire at the Reference Desk or call 334-5419 - Scifinder Scholar tutorials
- Web of Science
•Indexes over 8,100 peer-reviewed science journals cover-to-cover.
•Also provides access to cited references, the footnotes to a scholarly article.
•Covers 1955-present - Web of Science Tutorials
- Science Direct
•Provides full text of over 860 scholarly scientific journals.
•Coverage includes a number of important journals in the various areas of chemistry.
•Largely English-language materials.
•Dates of coverage: 1995-present - PubChem
•PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules - PubMed
Indexes articles from leading medical and life sciences journals. - PROLA
•A search engine that indexes all APS journal material published from 1893 to present
Chemistry and Biochemistry Web Sites
- Organic Chemistry Portal
Offers an overview of recent topics, interesting reactions, and information on the most important chemicals - WebElements Periodic Table
Contains links to data from Hydrogen, element 1 to Ununoctium, element 118, discovered in 1999, the heaviest element - Chemistry Guide
A directory of Web resources for biology and chemistry teachers. Links are organized under a wide variety of chemistry topics. - Chemistry Central
Chemistry Central, is a new open access website for chemists. It brings together peer-reviewed research in chemistry from a range of open access journals. All the original research articles on Chemistry Central are made freely and permanently accessible online immediately upon publication - eMolecules
eMolecules searches for chemical structures. eMolecules discovers sources of chemical data by searching the internet, and receives submissions from data providers such as chemical suppliers and academic researchers
Ask Us!
Chat requires JavaScript. If you are seeing this, we may be offline. Please check back later.
Contact Information
Librarian: Beth Bernhardt, Librarian
Email: beth_bernhardt@uncg.edu
Phone: (336) 256-1210
Chemistry and Biochemistry Journals
Use Journal Finder to search for any particular journal, magazine, or newspaper
A-Z List of all Chemistry E-Journals (over 1,150 of them!)



Loading...
