WGS Course Guides
- Last Updated Jul 1, 2014
Introduction to Women's and Gender Studies
45 views this year
- Last Updated Jul 1, 2014
Guide to research on topics related to women's and gender studies.
218 views this year
- Last Updated Jan 24, 2014
Resources for Dr. Lisa Levenstein's WGS 602 for Spring 2014.
75 views this year
New WGS titles
Very selective list of recent WGS related titles.
The handbook of language, gender and sexuality/Susan Ehrlich; Miriam Meyerhoff; Janet Holmes, 2014. Click title to access.
The Oxford handbook of feminist multicultural counseling psychology / Peter E. Nathan, Carolyn Zerbe Enns and Elizabeth Nutt Williams, 2013. Click title to access, also in print. BF636.7 C76 O94 2013 9th floor of Tower
A community of disagreement : feminism in the university/ Danielle Bouchard, 2012.
The Oxford handbook of gender and politics/Georgina Waylen, 2013. Click title to access, and also in print. HQ1236 .O99 2013 6th floor of Tower. From the publisher's website: "The handbook is organized in sections that look at sexuality and body politics; political economy; civil society; participation, representation and policymaking; institutions, states and governance as well as nation, citizenship and identity. "
Double-voicing at work : power, gender and linguistic expertise/ Judith Baxter, 2014. Click title to access.
Just queer folks : gender and sexuality in rural America/ Colin R. Johnson, 2013. HQ76.3.U5 J58 2013 6th floor of Tower.
Research, action and policy : addressing the gendered impacts of climate change / Margaret Alston and Kerri Whittenbury, 2013. Click title to access.
Sovereign masculinity: Gender lessons from the war on terror/Bonnie Mann, 2014. Call number HQ1090 .M3295 2014
This guide will lead you to resources for Women's and Gender Studies. The interdisciplinary nature of WGS means that you may also need to consult guides in other subject areas. Contact Mary at email@example.com or use Ask Us for additional suggestions on finding resources. Please use the tabs above to find the type of information you need.
- Finding Books - locate books at UNCG and beyond!
- Finding Articles - use these databases to locate articles on WGS topics.
- Electronic Encyclopedias - subject encyclopedias related to WGS topics, great for background information and defintions of concepts.
- Primary Resources - includes original diaries, letters, historical documents and other primary resources for WGS topics.
- Citation Guides - help with bibliography and footnotes.
Because WGS is interdisciplinary in nature, consult with your professor as to which style is best for a class.
Women's and Gender Studies Department
Link to UNCG's Women's and Gender Studies Department to find out more about their programs and courses.