Ask Us!
Chat requires JavaScript. If you are seeing this, we may be offline. Please check back later.
Comments (0)
Search Tips
For some helpful hints on searching the databases, click on the blue tab for Article Search Tips.
Finding Journal Articles

The databases below are subject guides to journals, magazines, newspapers, and so on. For more choices see the Library home page.
Note: if you already know the specific article you want, use Journal Finder. See the box on the right side of this page.
- ERIC (EBSCO)-Abstracts and some full text for over a million journal articles (EJ numbers)
-Published and unpublished education materials such as school system reports, conference papers, research reports, etc. (ED numbers)
-Most EJ numbers accessible through Journal Finder
-Many recent ED numbers available online in full text; others on microfiche
-Dates of coverage: 1966+
--Link to NCSU tutorials on using ERIC - Business Source Complete (EBSCO)-Sample topics: career development, job fairs, vocational guidance, career changes, retirement options, discrimination, job satisfaction, etc.
-Considerable full text
-Dates of coverage: 1984+. Some as early as 1922. - Career Library-Exploration Center: lets users assess career interests and explore information pertaining to occupations and higher education. Contains interest and skills assessments
-Planning Center: users obtain printable resources and gather information that will assist with planning to enter school or the workforce
-Activity Center: offers ways for users to test their knowledge on history, vocabulary, math, English, and occupations
-Interactive quizzes, sample standardized tests - Counseling and Therapy in Video-Filmed footage of actual therapy sessions, re-enacted therapy sessions, and scripted sessions designed by counseling professionals to illustrate common issues and scenarios that arise during courses of therapy
-Lectures, presentations, and interview feature well-known therapists discussing their own work and broader issues - SocIndex with Full Text (SIFT) (EBSCO)-Some full text
-Key subjects: sociology, social psychology, ethnic and gender studies, marriage and family, social development, family conflict, etc.
-Sample topics: work-life balance, dual career couple, work-family conflict, division of labor
-Dates of coverage: varies but some from 1895+ - PsycINFO (EBSCO)-Abstracts and some full text for journals and book chapters
-Sample topics: behavioral issues of children, attention deficit disorder, learning difficulties, etc.
-Dates of coverage: 1872+ - Child Development and Adolescent Studies-Materials relating to the growth and development of children through the age of 21
-Sample topics: career development, career counseling, job satisfaction
-Dates of coverage: 1927+ - Link to All EBSCO Databases-Simultaneously search any combination of the 20+ EBSCO databases
- Education Index-Searches Education Full Text and Education Index Retrospective simultaneously
-Strong on educational and psychological topics at all educational levels
-Advantages compared to ERIC: indexes most of the core education journals and many of them are full text. Disadvantages: subject headings are not as varied or clear as ERIC nor is the subject coverage as deep or varied so it can be hard to find the right terms to get articles on your topic
-Indexing 1929+; abstracts added from 1994+ - JSTOR-Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines including education
-Includes all older issues from volume 1 through the last 1-7 years - Social Science Citation Index (Web of Science)-Citations and some abstracts (no full text) to thousands of peer-reviewed journals
-Sample topics: K-12, higher education, special education, historical topics in the social sciences, school administration, counseling, educational psychology
-Cited reference search: finds articles that cite a previously published journal article or book
-Journal Citation Reports: tool for identifying the impact factor for journals
-Dates of coverage: 1956+
CED Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |




Loading...
