The University of North Carolina at Greensboro
This is the "Home" page of the "Classical Studies Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Classical Studies Resources   Tags: archaeology, classical literature, greek, latin  

Greek and Latin language, classical literature and culture; archaeology
Last Updated: Feb 8, 2013 URL: http://uncg.libguides.com/cci Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Classical Studies courses

Classes I have taught for Classical Studies

 

  Ask Us!

The person you're chatting with in this box may not be the person you see on this page, but we can still help you!
 

On Being a Reference Librarian

 

Welcome !

This guide will provide you with resources with which to learn about the broad area of classical civilizations.

On this page, you will find databases listing articles on classical topics, a link to the Library Catalog, as well as alink to the Thesaurus linguae Graecae, a large collection of ancient texts.

The E-Encyclopedias tab  takes you a number of electronic dictionaries and encyclopedias, an excellent place to begin research on a topic new to you.

The MLA tab  will show you how to format your reference list using the style guidelines of the Modern Language Association.

 

Most important CCI resources

Articles (Journals & Magazines)

L'Année Philologique

  • Online version of the definitive index to Greco-Roman antiquity.
  • Covers 1924-2009 (vols 1-80 of the print edition)
  • No abstracts or full text
    Abbreviations used for journals in L'Annee Philologique

TOCS-IN (Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists)

  • Tables of contents of approximately 160 Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals
  • Coverage is from 1992 to the present with some earlier material for certain journal titles

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)

  • Our largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary, full text database.
  • Abstracts and indexes over 7,900 journals (over 6,175 of those are peer-reviewed).
  • Provides the full text of over 4,500 journals (over 3,600 of those are peer-reviewed).
  • More info

Academic OneFile (InfoTrac)

  • Covers over 10,000 periodicals and scholarly journals.
  • Provides the full text from over 5,000 titles.
  • Provides some full text of history journals and includes many book reviews
  • 1980 to present
  • More info

ProQuest Research Library

  • Provides full text and full image of some major history journals
  • 1986 to present
  • More info

JSTOR

  • Provides the complete digitized text of about a dozen classical studies journals
  • Coverage begins with the first issue and does not include the last 3-5 years
  • More info

Gnomon Bibliographic Database

      This is a database which now covers almost half a million publications in the fields of Ancient History, Archaeology and Philology, including a thesaurus and search engine that allows users to browse and search the database by name of author, year of publication, title etc.

 

    Search Journal Finder

Journal Finder

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae

  • Thesaurus linguae Graecae

    The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) is a research center at the University of California, Irvine. Founded in 1972 the TLG has collected and digitized most literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453. Its goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era

My Profile

Profile Image
Mark Schumacher
Contact Info
Phone: (336) 334-3215
mark_schumacher@uncg.edu
151 Jackson Library
About Your Librarian:
A scholar of the Boston artist/book designer Amy Sacker. See www.amysacker.net
 

Mark on Facebook

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip