The University of North Carolina at Greensboro
This is the "Home" page of the "Theatre Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Theatre Resources   Tags: theater, theatre, theatre_history  

Last Updated: Apr 7, 2014 URL: http://uncg.libguides.com/thr Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Theatre Classes

 

Ask Us!

The person you're chatting with in this box may not be the person you see on this page, but we can still help you!

 

UNCG Theatre Department

 

On Being a Reference Librarian

 

Welcome !!

This guide will help you find resources related to Theatre. If you have any questions, please feel free to use our library's Ask Us! service, or contact me personally. Please use the tabs above to find the type of resource you need.

 

Key theatre resources (for articles)

                                                       G E N E R A L


Ebsco Databases
(1984 to present)

At the initial screen, choose Academic Search Complete and MasterFILE Premier to search simultaneously popular magazines and scholarly journals. The full-text of many articles is available in the database; there is also a link to the A-Z Journals LIst in order to determine if the full-text is available in another database. You could also add International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance and MLA.These databases index thousands of articles on theatre topics, including reviews of play performances. More info

Academic OneFile (InfoTrac) (1980 to present)

Indexes and abstracts articles for a few thousand journals covering nearly all subject areas. The full-text of many articles is available in the database; there is also a link to the A-Z Journals LIst  in order to determine if the full-text is available in another database. This database indexes thousands of articles on theatre topics, including reviews of play performances. More info

ProQuest (dates vary according to database) 

ProQuest covers popular magazines and newspapers as well as scholarly journals. The full-text of many articles is available in these databases; there is also a link to the A-Z Journals LIst in order to determine if the full-text is available in another database. These databases index thousands of articles on theatre topics, including reviews of play performances. More info

LexisNexis Academic (dates vary but earliest is 1970's; most beginning dates are later)

The main source for searching newspapers beyond the approximately half-dozen national newspapers and a few North Carolina newspapers. Choose News as the category and then choose from General News, Today's News, and Arts and Sports, with the last specifically containing performance reviews. These indexes cover interviews with theater personnel as well as reviews of performances. More info.           

                                               S P E C I A L I Z E D

North American Theatre Online Plus (NATO)

North American Theatre Online Plus brings together in one place many primary resources for U. S. and Canadian theatre. First, it is a major reference work containing biographical information about theatre personnel and historical information about play productions, production companies, theatres, characters, and related topics. Included also are playbills, postcards, and scrapbooks. NATO also serves as an index to five separate online databases (Asian American Drama, Black Drama (1850 to Present), Latino Literature, North American Women’s Drama, and Twentieth Century North American Drama) with texts of plays and information related to their performance. NATO is by far the most comprehensive database for historical information about North American drama. More info.

International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance (IBTD)

Covering the early 1980s to date, the IBTD indexes theatre and dance articles in magazines and journals, books, chapters in books, and dissertations. The citation is followed by a sentence or two describing the content of the material. Many of the items are not in English.   More info.

Humanities International Index (1925 to date, but mainly from 1960s to date)

Indexing journals, books, and reference sources in the humanities (including theatre), this database includes journals that publish original creative works (including plays) and interviews with playwrights. More info.

Readers' Guide Retrospective (1890 to 1982)

Indexes popular magazines and high-circulation periodicals by author and subject, including reviews of plays and films and biographical information. More info

MLA International Bibliography (1926 to present)

The Modern Language Association's International Bibliography indexes books, essays, in books, articles from over 3000 journals, proceedings, dissertations as listed in Dissertation Abstracts International, and many other materials. Although it excludes book reviews and performance reviews, it includes many articles on theatrical production, stage history, performance, theory, and literary aspects of plays. More info

Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective (1907-1984)

Covers hundreds of English-language journals in classics, art, performing arts, philosophy, history, music, and literature. Indexes articles, book reviews, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction (including dramas and poems), and reviews of plays and television and radio programs. More info

Art Index (1929 to present)

This index covers art, design, and architecture journals, including articles on theatre production and design, lighting, architecture, costume design, and interviews with theatre personnel. More info

America's Historical  Newspapers

Full text of hundreds of newspapers published from 1690-1879. Includes only a few papers at the present time; text will be added on an ongoing basis. More info

Historical Index to the New York Times (1851 to 1999)

Contains the full-text of articles from the New York Times since it began in 1851! No subject headings or descriptors are used, thus searches are of the title and full-text of the article. (More recent dates are available through other databases; enter New York Times in the A-Z Journals LIst .) More info

Times (of London) (1785-1985)

Contains the full-text of articles from The Times from 201 years! Since no subject headings or descriptors are used, searches are of the title and full-text of articles. Searches can be limited by date and by broad category of type of article, e.g. Editorial & Commentary, Features, etc. More info

American Periodicals Series (1740-1900)

Provides the digitized text of approximately 1,100 magazines and journals that began publication prior to 1900, including 89 journals published between 1740 and 1800; more than 900 titles from the first 60 years of the nineteenth century; and 118 periodicals published during the Civil War (1861-1865), Reconstruction (1865-1877), and the remaining years through 1900. List of magazine and journal titles. More info

British Periodicals, 1680s through 1930s

Provides the digitized text of many British periodicals from the origin of magazines in the 1680s through the Victorian period and into the early 1930s. The database is “in process” with new fulltext being added regularly. Includes all types of magazines and journals published in England. List of magazine and journal titles with dates of coverage. More info

World Shakespeare Bibliography (1971 to present)

Provides annotated listings for books, journal articles, dissertations, reviews of books and theatrical productions, electronic media and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare; international in coverage. More info

My Profile

Profile Image
Mark Schumacher
Contact Info
Phone: (336) 334-3215
mark_schumacher@uncg.edu
151 Jackson Library
About Your Librarian:
A scholar of the Boston artist/book designer Amy Sacker. See http://www.amysacker.net
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip