The University of North Carolina at Greensboro
This is the "Databases" page of the "MBA Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

MBA Resources   Tags: business, companies, finance, industries, management, marketing, mba  

Last Updated: Jul 26, 2013 URL: http://uncg.libguides.com/mba Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Journal A-Z List

Journal A-Z List

Covers over 62,000 journals, magazines, and newspapers provided by the library or available for free.

This new tool replaced Journal Finder. More info

 

What's new:

1. Hoovers is now Mergent Intellect -- same information, better off-campus access, & more downloads.

Mergent Intellect

2. Win $500 in our Undergraduate Research Award.

SWOT databases

Places to find SWOT analyses:

(Video on finding these)

 

Wall Street Journal headlines

Get any article from the WSJ for free from the library's Wall Street Journal (via ProQuest) subscription.

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Harvard Business Review: new articles

Get any article from the Harvard Business Review in the library's Business Source Complete database.

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Have feedback on this page?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

Video: Finding SWOT analyses using UNCG library databases

SWOT videoFinding SWOTs from Three Library Databases

This video shows you how to find SWOT analyses in the Business Source Complete, Business Insights, and Euromonitor Passport GMID databases.

Article Databases

  • Business Source Complete (Ebsco)  
      
    Our largest database for business articles.
    Covers scholarly journals, industry magazines, and general business magazines.
    Also includes company, industry, and country reports.
  • Wall Street Journal (via ProQuest)  
      
    Provides the full text articles from the WSJ from 1982 to present.
    See below for older WSJ articles.
  • General OneFile  
      
    Covers 1000's of industry magazines, general business magazines, news wires, and scholarly journals.
  • LexisNexis Academic  
      
    Covers international business newspapers, newswires, press releases, newsletters, and some industry magazines.
  • Triad Business Journal
    Homepage of the local business newspaper.
  • Regional Business News (Ebsco)
    Covers over 80 U.S. regional and local business newspapers, and some U.S. business newswires.
  • Web of Science (Social Science Citation Index)
    Indexes over 2,200 social science journals, including many in business.
    Provides access to cited references, the footnotes to a scholarly article.
    Covers 1955-present.
  • Google Scholar
    Covers ejournal websites, institutional and disciplinary repositories, and books.
    Provides links to UNCG's Journal A-Z. (From off-campus, select "Scholar Preferences", search for "UNCG", select all the options, and "Save Preferences.")
    On-campus users will often get straight to the fulltext if the UNCG library subscribes to that ejounal.

Industry Databases

  • IBISWorld  
      
    Provides detailed U.S. industry reports at the 5-digit NAICS level (over 720 reports total).
  • Business Insights: Essentials  
      
    A one-stop-shopping database for company and business research. Includes many SWOT analyses.
  • BizMiner  
      
    Provides detailed financials for business plans and industry research.
    Covers 9,000 industries at national and regional levels.
  • Statista  
      
    Provides statistics on economies, markets, and industries. Includes data from over 18,000 government, industry, and market research sources.
  • Euromonitor Passport GMID  
      
    Provides reports on international consumer-oriented industries.
    Particularly useful for the apparel, retailing, food, drink, consumer electronics, toys, travel, and personal care products industries.
  • Mergent Intellect (Hoover's company records)
    Provides "First Research" industry reports.
  • Mergent Online  
      
    Provides reports on 20 industries for North America, Asia Pacific, Latin America, and Europe.
    Look for these under the "Report Search" tab, and then the "Industry Reports" link.
  • Business Source Complete (Ebsco)  
      
    Provides international industry reports from Marketline, Business Monitor International, and other publishers.
  • Small Business Reference Center (Ebsco)  
      
    Provides articles, reports, sample business plans, legal guidebooks, U.S. tax forms, and videos.

Industry Ratios

Note that RMA & BizMiner are online; the other two sources are reference books in the library (first floor).

  • RMA eStatement Studies  
      
    Provides financial ratio benchmarks (FRB) and industry default probabilities (IDP), plus regional breakouts.
    Covers around 340 U.S. industries, defined by NAICS codes.
    RMA is the Risk Management Association. (Robert Morris and Associates once published this.)
  • BizMiner  
      
    Provides detailed financials for business plans and industry research.
    Covers 9,000 industries at national and regional levels.
  • Duns Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios (reference book)
    Ask for this at the library's Reference/AskUs desk, on the first floor.
    Provides 32 performance indicators for over 800 products and services, arranged by SIC code.
    Covers the most industries of any ratio source.
  • Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios (reference book)
    In the library's reference room at Ref HF5681.R25 T68. Save time and ask at the Reference Desk to be shown this.
    Provides 50 performance indicators for 192 industries, organized by NAICS code.
    Provides the most ratios per industry of any ratio source.

Management Databases

Market Research Databases

  • Mintel  
      
    Provides market and consumer research reports with a focus on the U.S. and Europe.
    Also includes reports on the African-American, Asian-American, & U.S. Hispanic markets.
    Requires you to set up a free profile the first time.
  • Euromonitor Passport GMID  
      
    Provides statistics (including projections) and market research reports on countries, cities, companies, markets, and consumers.
  • IBISWorld  
      
    Provides detailed U.S. industry reports at the 5-digit NAICS level (over 720 reports total).
  • SimplyMap  
      
    Develop thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data (including MRI/Mediamark) variables.
    Each user accesses SimplyMap through a "personal workspace"; you will need to create an account the first time you use it.
  • DemographicsNow  
      
    Covers population, age, race and ethnicity, income, housing, employment characteristics, and consumer expenditures for U.S. places.
    Places can be compared and ranked.
    Provides tables, maps, and download options.
  • Statista  
      
    Provides statistics on economies, markets, and industries. Includes data from over 18,000 government, industry, and market research sources.
  • American FactFinder, U.S. Census Bureau  
      
    The Census' search engine for population, housing, and economic data.

Private Company Databases

Public Company Databases

  • Mergent Online  
      
    Provides detailed information on 15,000 U.S. public companies (active and inactive) and 20,000 public companies from over 80 other countries.
    Also provides equity reports, global industry reports, SEC filings in many formats, executive biographies, historic annual reports, historic stock prices (graphs and tables), and more.
  • Business Insights: Essentials  
      
    A one-stop-shopping database for company and business research. Includes many SWOT analyses.
  • Morningstar Investment Research Center Database  
      
    Covers all stocks on the NYSE, NASDAQ, and ASE, and also 14,000 mutual funds.
    Provides stock, fund, bond, and options data, plus Morningstar Analyst Reports, screeners, a portfolio x-ray, & more.
  • MarketLine Company Profiles (via Business Source Complete)  
      
    Provides over 10,000 international company profiles (many including a SWOT analysis).
  • Mergent Intellect (Hoover's company records)
    Provides Hoovers profiles of public companies.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    For its company search, includes data from Standard & Poor's, Dun & Bradstreet, Morningstar, Reuters/Thomson Financial, Mergerstat, Vickers, Zachs, and others.

Business Librarian:

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip