Ask Us!
Chat requires JavaScript. If you are seeing this, we may be offline. Please check back later.
Comments (0)
Search Journal Finder
Finding Journal Articles
The databases below are subject guides to journals, magazines, newspapers, and so on. For more choices see the Library home page.
Note: if you already know the specific article you want, use Journal Finder. See the box on the left of this page.
- SocIndex with Full Text (SIFT) (EBSCO)-Coverage: all areas of sociology including criminology and criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, social development, social work, substance abuse, violence, etc.
-Considerable full text
-Abstracts from as far back as 1895; some full text from recent years - Lexis-Nexis Academic-Full-text articles from worldwide newspapers, media transcripts, newsletters, journals, etc.
-Especially important for current news stories and topics dealing with a particular geographic area
-Legal section: full text of federal and state statutes and court cases; also law journals
-Dates of coverage: varies by title - JSTOR-Excellent full-text database covering hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities including most of the mainstream sociology journals
-Coverage begins with the first issue but does not include the last 1-7 years
-Dates of coverage: varies by title - National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts-Summaries of federal, state, and local government reports and transcripts, books, statistics, audiovisual materials, etc.
-Subject coverage: corrections, drugs and crime, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, hate crimes, school safety, ex-offender programs, victims of crime, etc.
-The NCJRS Virtual Library is a separately-searched collection of several thousand full-text publications from the Dept. of Justice and other agencies
-Dates of coverage: 1970+ - Humanities and Social Science Retrospective-Predecessor to above title covering core social science journals
-Citations only. No full text
-Dates of coverage: 1907-1984 - Sociological Abstracts-Wide-ranging international coverage for journals, books, conference papers, and other materials
-1963+ - Ethnic NewsWatch-News and cultural materials from several hundred U.S. publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press
-Full text titles offer additional viewpoints from those of the mainstream press
-Dates of coverage: full text from the 1990's with a few as far back as the 1960's - PsycINFO (EBSCO)-Some full text of journals and book chapters in psychology and related disciplines
-Selected topics: motivational and behavioral assessment, social psychology, community mental health, sociological factors affecting behavior, ect.
-Cited references: show citations or links to full text journal articles citing previously published items
-Dates of coverage: 1872+ - Web of Science-Indexes thousands of peer-reviewed social science and science journals
-Citation search: shows references cited by the authors of the journal articles
-Cited reference search: finds articles citing a previously published article or book
-Dates of coverage: 1955+ - Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)-Large, interdisciplinary, full-text database covering a selection of journals from every field
-Coverage varies by title with some pdf content dating back as far as 1887 - Link to All EBSCO Databases-Simultaneously search any combination of 20+ available databases such as SocIndex Full Text, PsycINFO, Child Development and Family Studies, ERIC (education), etc.
Sociology Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |






Loading...
