The University of North Carolina at Greensboro
This is the "Finding Articles" page of the "GEO 359 Remote Sensing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

GEO 359 Remote Sensing   Tags: geography, gis, remote sensing  

Last Updated: Aug 27, 2012 URL: http://uncg.libguides.com/GEO359 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Finding Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

  Ask Us!

The person you're chatting with in this box may not be the person you see on this page, but we can still help you!
 

Search Journal Finder

Journal Finder

  Finding Journals--Most Important

        

The databases below are subject guides to journals, magazines, newspapers, and so on. For more choices see the Library home page.

Note: if you already know the specific article you want, use Journal Finder. See the box on the left of this page.

  • Science Direct
    -Full text of journals covering science, technology, medicine, and many of the social science
    Useful for earth sciences, environment, ecology, remote sensing, GIS, and some aspects of urban planning
    -1995 to present but varies by title
  • GEOBASE (Access ends 12/31/2010)
    -Abstracts of articles covering cartography, geology, climatology, geography, urban planning, regional studies, and remote sensing
    -International in scope
    -Limited availability of items in Jackson Library. Use ILL
    -1980 to present
  • Web of Science
    -Indexes thousands of peer-reviewed science and social science journals
    -No full text. May link to full text via Journal Finder
    -Citation database: references cited by the authors of the jorunal articles they cover
    -Cited reference search: find articles from journals citing a book or an article
    -Includes Socail Sciences Citation Index and Science Citation Index
    -1955 to present
  • AGRICOLA (via National Agricultural Library)
    -Covers every major agricultural subject including natural resources, ecology, water resources, water pollution, etc.
    -International in scope
    -1970 to present
  • Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
    -Large, interdisciplinary, full-text database covering thousands of magazines and journals
    -Selected topics: urban studies, earth sciences, city planning, weather
    -Coverage varies by title with some pdf content dating back as far as 1887
  • JSTOR
    -Full text of several key geography and population journals
    -Coverage begins with the first issue but does not include the last 3-5 years
  • LexisNexis Academic  
      
    -Full text articles from thousands of journals, magazines, media transcripts, domestic and foreign newspapers, newsletters, etc.
    -Especially useful for information and geographical events specific to a particular city or region
    -Legal materials: all federal and state statutes and case law; law journals
    -Business materials: journals and company information
    -Dates of coverage vary by title
    -For finding geographic specific sources, click on the blue i ball above

  Finding Journals: Other Useful Databases

  • Business Source Premier (EBSCO)
    Considerable full text for several thousand business and economic journals
    -Useful for economic geography, business-oriented GIS issues, industrial site selection, regional development, travel industry, transportation economics, etc.
  • Newspaper Source Plus
    -Full text for hundreds of U.S. and international newspapers plus newswires and columns
    -Includes the NY Times
    -Most titles begin from the late 1990's
  • Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
    -Comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, and historic preservation
    -Coverage is from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s) to the present
  • PAIS International (Public Affairs)
    -Brief abstracts to public affairs oriented periodical articles, government publications, books and materials with limited distribution
    -Worldwide coverage for public affairs, public policy, law, environment, demography and statistics
    -1972+
  • Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip