Ask Us!
Search Tips
-When researching your topic, try a variety of subject headings for the same concept. e.g. for mass transit also use terms like rapid transit, public transportation, light rail, buses, etc.
-Don't check the box for full text in the database unless you have lots of records. The full text may easily be available online elsewhere.
-Use OR to combine synonyms for the same term e.g. mass transit or public transportation or rapid transit or buses
-Use AND to combine different concepts e.g. (mass transit or public transportation or rapid transit or buses) and (Greensboro or Charlotte)
-If AND and OR are used in the same search, the terms connected by OR bust be in parentheses
Finding Articles in Journals and Newspapers
The titles listed below are just a sample of the over 200 databases accessible through the University Libraries. You might want to check several databases for your topic because transportation and planning journals may be found in a wide variety of sources.
Use the Journal A-Z List on the library home page if you want to browse a particular journal title.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)-Our largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary, full-text database
-Basic starting point for most topics
-Sample journals: Journal of the Amer. Planning Assn, Transportation Research, Transport Policy, Urban Studies, Jour. of Geographical Systems, Transportation Planning and Policy
--Coverage varies by title with some pdf content dating back as far as 1887 - Business Source Premier (EBSCO)-transportation from a business perspective
-sample topics: public transit choices, commuter stress, location of transport systems, things affecting ridership
-sample journals: Urban Studies, Transportation Research, Transport Policy, Journal of Transport Geography, Journal of Travel and Tourism Marketing, Annals of Regional Science
Dates of coverage: 1984+, some as early as 1922 - GreenFile (EBSCO)-Covers positive and negative relationships between human beings and the environment
-Sample journals: Environment and Planning, Jour. of Environmental Policy & Planning, Environmental Practice, Building and Environment, Environment and Behavior
-Dates of coverage: 1973+ - Environment Complete (EBSCO)-Covers agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy resources, natural resources, geography, pollution, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, and urban planning
-Dates of coverage: 1950s+ but some as far back as 1888 - Link to all EBSCO databases-Search any combination of over 20 databases simultaneously
- Regional Business News (EBSCO)-Full text of about 50 U.S. regional and local business newspapers and 13 business newswires
-Covers transportation projects from the business viewpoint
-Includes the publication Business North Carolina
-Dates of coverage: mid 1990s+ for most newspapers; last 30 days for newswires - National Transportation Library-Citations to books, journal articles, government documents, etc. from public, academic, and private sources
-Some direct links to the materials are provided. For others check the library's online catalog for books and documents or check Journal Finder for articles
-Click on the word "Search." On the new screen click on "Advanced Search" This allows you to specify additional terms and locations of those terms
-Statistics: on the RITA home page on the green bar click on Research/Tools - Lexis-Nexis Academic -Full text articles from thousands of journals, magazines, transcripts of radio and television news broadcasts, newspapers, editorials, newsletters, etc.
-Especially good for short articles on current issues and for newspaper articles on issues and programs relevant to a particular geographic area
-For finding geographic specific sources, click on the blue i ball above - Science Direct-Mostly science focused but provides full text for these journals: Transportation Policy, Transportation research, Cities, Journal of Transport Geography, and Landscape and Urban Planning
-Dates of coverage: 1995+ - Web of Science-Indexes many of the major transportation planning journals although it does not have the full text. Check Journal Finder for access to specific articles
-Dates of coverage: 1956+ - Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS)-Citations to books, journals, Congressional hearings, and Internet resources
-Covers global public policy and social issues, the environment, municipal government issues
-Dates of coverage: 1937+ - SocIndex with Full Text (SIFT) (EBSCO)-Transportation topics for a sociological or human geography viewpoint
-Sample topics: people's transportation choices, travel behavior, commuters, use of public transportation
-Sample journals: Urban Studies, Journal of Planning Literature, Geographical Review - PsycInfo (Psychology) (EBSCO)-Sample topics: travel and driving behaviors, reasons for particular driving habits, impact of accidents on transportation choices and behaviors
Geography Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
