Contents:
Journal Finder
Covers over 62,000 journals, magazines, and newspapers provided by the library or available for free.
What's New for 2013
Statista
- Includes data from over 18,000 government, industry, and market research sources.
- Also provides "dossier" collections of statistics, charts, and graphs on companies, industries, and markets, downloadable as PowerPoint files.
- Data can be exported to Excel and charts can be exported as picture files or directly into PowerPoint.
IBIS: 460 new specialized industry reports
- In addition to the 700+ NAICS industry reports, the library now also funds 460 specialized reports.

Ebsco app (free)
- Download articles & reports from Business Source Complete & other Ebsco databases from your Apple or Android device.
- To install, go to Ebsco's Academic Search Complete, select the app link at the bottom, and follow the directions.
SWOT databases
Places to find SWOT analyses:
- Datamonitor/MarketLine Reports (via Business Source Complete) Provides over 10,000 international company profiles (many including a SWOT analysis).
- Business Insights: Essentials A one-stop-shopping database for company and business research. Includes many SWOT analyses.
- Euromonitor Passport GMID Provides SWOTs for a number of companies.
Have feedback on this page?
Featured Video: Market Research Reports
Market Research Reports using Library Databases
Three UNCG databases provide market research reports: Mintel, Euromonitor, and IBIS. This video shows you how to find those reports, and illustrates the high value of these library subscriptions.
Fashion Databases
- Fashion Snoops A fashion forecasting and trend analysis service.
Covers runway, trade show, and retail scenes. - Fashion and Costume Encyclopedias from GaleSearches four encyclopedias covering clothing, fashion, costume, and culture.
- General OneFile Covers fashion industry magazines among many others.
- Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) Includes some coverage of fashion and the apparel industry.
Our largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary, full text database. - MasterFILE Complete Covers many popular magazines, including fashion magazines.
- ProQuest Research LibraryIncludes some coverage of fashion and the apparel industry, among many other topics.
- Google Scholar Covers some fashion journals not covered by library databases.
Provides links to Journal Finder. (From off-campus, select "Scholar Preferences", search for "UNCG", select all the options, and "Save Preferences.")
On-campus users will often get straight to the fulltext if the UNCG library subscribes to that ejournal.
Article Databases for Retailing & Apparel
- Business Source Complete (Ebsco) Our largest database for business articles.
Covers scholarly journals, industry magazines, and general business magazines.
Also includes company, industry, and country reports. - General OneFile Covers 1000's of industry magazines, general business magazines, news wires, and scholarly journals.
- Wall Street Journal (via ProQuest) Provides the full text articles from the WSJ from 1982 to present.
See below for older WSJ articles. - LexisNexis Academic Covers international business newspapers, newswires, press releases, newsletters, and some industry magazines.
- Google ScholarCovers ejournal websites, institutional and disciplinary repositories, and books.
Provides links to Journal Finder. (From off-campus, select "Scholar Preferences", search for "UNCG", select all the options, and "Save Preferences.")
On-campus users will often get straight to the fulltext if the UNCG library subscribes to that ejournal. - Dissertations & Theses Full TextA comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses
- Dissertations & Theses@UNCGProvides UNCG dissertations & theses published after 1996.
Industry Databases
- IBISWorld Provides detailed U.S. industry reports at the 5-digit NAICS level (over 720 reports total).
- Euromonitor Passport GMID Provides reports on international consumer-oriented industries.
Particularly useful for the apparel, retailing, food, drink, consumer electronics, toys, travel, and personal care products industries. - Mintel Provides market and consumer research reports with a focus on the U.S. and Europe.
Also includes reports on the African-American, Asian-American, & U.S. Hispanic markets.
Requires you to set up a free profile the first time. - Datamonitor/MarketLine Reports (via Business Source Complete) Provides over 2,500 concise global industry profiles. Reports from other publishers are also available.
- Hoovers + Duns Provides the industry reports from First Research.
- Small Business Reference Center (Ebsco)Provides industry reports from various publishers. Browsable by industry.
- Business Insights: Essentials Provides reports on over 1,000 US and international industries.
- Statista Includes data from over 18,000 government, industry, and market research sources. Also provides "dossier" collections of statistics, charts, and graphs on companies, industries, and markets, downloadable as PowerPoint files.
Industry Ratios
Note that RMA & BizMiner are online; the other two sources are reference books in the library (first floor).
- RMA eStatement Studies Provides financial ratio benchmarks (FRB) and industry default probabilities (IDP), plus regional breakouts.
Covers around 340 U.S. industries, defined by NAICS codes.
RMA is the Risk Management Association. (Robert Morris and Associates once published this.) - BizMiner Provides ratios for 1000's industries. Look in the "Industry Financial Profiles" or "Micro Firm Profit & Loss Profiles."
- Duns Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios (reference book)Ask for this at the library's Reference/AskUs desk, on the first floor.
Provides 32 performance indicators for over 800 products and services, arranged by SIC code.
Covers the most industries of any ratio source. - Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios (reference book)In the library's reference room at Ref HF5681.R25 T68. Save time and ask at the Reference Desk to be shown this.
Provides 50 performance indicators for 192 industries, organized by NAICS code.
Provides the most ratios per industry of any ratio source.
Market Research Databases
- Euromonitor Passport GMID Provides reports and data on countries, companies, markets, consumers, and cities.
Particularly useful for the apparel, retailing, food, drink, consumer electronics, toys, travel, and personal care products industries. - Mintel Provides market and consumer research reports with a focus on the U.S. and Europe.
Also includes reports on the African-American, Asian-American, & U.S. Hispanic markets.
Requires you to set up a free profile the first time. - IBISWorld Provides detailed U.S. industry reports at the 5-digit NAICS level (over 720 reports total).
- DemographicsNow Covers U.S. population, age, race and ethnicity, income, housing, employment characteristics, and consumer expenditures.
Places can be compared and ranked.
Provides tables, graphs, pie charts, and maps. - SimplyMap Develop thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data (including MRI/Mediamark) variables.
Each user accesses SimplyMap through a "personal workspace"; you will need to create an account the first time you use it. - Statista Includes data from over 18,000 government, industry, and market research sources. Also provides "dossier" collections of statistics, charts, and graphs on companies, industries, and markets, downloadable as PowerPoint files.
- American FactFinder, U.S. Census Bureau The Census' search engine for population, housing, and economic data.
Private Company Databases
- Hoovers + Duns Covers 19 million U.S. and 69 million international establishments.
- Business Insights: Essentials A one-stop-shopping database for company and business research. Includes many SWOT analyses.
- LexisNexis AcademicProvides international company profiles from many sources.
Public Company Databases
- Mergent Online Provides detailed information on 15,000 U.S. public companies (active and inactive) and 20,000 public companies from over 80 other countries.
Provides pre-defined company reports and multiple-company reports.
Data and information can be downloaded or printed. - Datamonitor/MarketLine Reports (via Business Source Complete) Provides over 10,000 international company profiles (many including a SWOT analysis).
- Business & Company Resource CenterA one-stop-shopping database for company and business research. Includes many SWOT analyses.
- Hoovers + Duns Covers 19 million U.S. and 69 million international establishments.
Trade Data Databases
- Comtrade Provides United Nations global and bilateral trade data.
Supports up to 5-digit SITC codes and 6-digit harmonized codes. - USITC Interactive Tariff and Trade DataWebCovers U.S. imports and exports, up to 10 digit HS codes.
Free registration is required. - GTIS: U.S. State Export Edition Provides U.S. state-level export trade data.
Supports up to 6-digit HS codes.
Business Librarian: |
|









Loading...
