Always list the articles, websites, books, and other source of information that you used when you're working on a class assignment.
- Even if the information was posted on the Internet or from the library
- Even if you take the information and put it in your own words ("paraphrasing")
If you do not list the items that provided the information that you're using, you are plagiarizing. The UNCG Academic Integrity Policy describes plagiarism as "Representing the words [or work] of another, as one's own in any academic exercise."
What about the "common knowledge" loophole? You do not need to find and list sources for common knowledge, such as "Loud music can damage your hearing." On the other hand, if you use specific information that is not commonly known, you need to list a source. For example: Researchers recently discovered that "1 in 5 children had hearing problems" (Carollo, 2010)
How does this work for a "Name that Pathology!" wiki assignment?
- Your instructor will ask you for a "Reference List" in APA style, which you will use to list the journal articles and other items that you used when researching for your wiki entries
APA Citation Style
- Used by many health professionals
- Gives guidelines for setting up reference lists and other parts of written work
Librarian advice - find authoritative examples of reference citations, then plug in the description (author, title, year, etc.) from the information sources that you used
- APA Style - Examples from the University Libraries, UNCG
- APA - Guidelines and examples from the OWL @ Perdue Writing Center
- Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th edition - The full official set of guidelines and examples (not available online). Most of the guidelines for reference lists are in pp. 183-224
Shortcut - Some e-book collections and online journal databases try to format reference list entries for you. These citations aren't always very good, so always compare them to examples given on guides to APA or to the full APA Publication Manual.
Want help avoiding plagiarism and citing sources?
University Writing Center - meets with students (including online!) to review parts of papers or other written work including reference lists, they can show you to show how to set up citations and reference lists
University Libraries -AskUs and the Health Sciences Librarian can point you to good guides, help get you started in finding the citation info that you need from your sources ("Where's the author??"), get you started in setting up your references ("No author? How do I set this up as a reference?"). Sorry, we don't set up reference lists for you or review or edit reference lists :(
Online Books-Find Introductory Info
Some introductory-level online books:
Gale Virtual Reference Library - Search the full text of an encyclopedia collection that covers many subjects
- Type a search such as meniere*
General library search tip: Capitalization does not matter, but spelling does! Placing * near the end of a word can increase results by finding several versions of that word - singular, plural, possessive.
Using only the most important word in my topic instead of typing a whole phrase usually gives more results. meniere's searches for - meniere's disease, meniere's syndrome, meniere's
- There should be articles from many encyclopedias, such as the Gale Encyclopedia of Neurological Disorders, with pdf and html links that you can use to read, save, and email.
- The email link inside the articles has an APA citation option that will send you an attempt at an APA reference list entry along with the article full text
Essentials of Audiology - by Stanley Gelfand, 2009, Theime
Foundations of Aural Rehabilitation - by Nancy Tye-Murray, 2009, McGraw Hill
SpringerLink has more advanced content. You can search the full text of more than 13,000 e-books from many disciplines including audiology. This link also searches 1,570 peer reviewed e-journals, so if you're interested in searching inside ONLY the books, use the advanced search.
All of the online books owned by the library are listed in the library catalog. You can search the catalog for online books by typing a general topic "and electronic book" like this: audiology and electronic book
Finding Journal Articles
When you need journal articles
- Search an article database to identify a journal article
- If the pdf or html full text isn't with the article description, use the Journal A to Z list (lists all of our journal, newspaper, and magazine subscriptions)
CINAHL - A guide to professional and peer reviewed (very scholarly) articles for nursing and other health professions. *Great* search limits for your work, such as Peer Reviewed and Publication type: Case study. Includes good audiology journals, such as the Journal of the American Academic of Audiology. Often has article full text right under each result.
- Type a topic such as meniere*
- Further down, in search options, you can set limits that will reduce the number of results that you get. Go easy on these :)
- Set the beginning publication date to 2000
- Even further down, set Publication Type to Case study and Language to English
- Hit the search button
- Click on an article title to read a description of this result
- If there's a pdf or html link on the left side, you can immediately read, print, email, or save the article. Otherwise follow the "Check for full text" link to find out if we own this article
- EBSCOhost databases like CINAHL will try to give you a reference citation for each result. On the right side, the Cite link will list this result in lots of different styles including APA. The Email link lets you set Citation format to APA, so an attempt at an APA reference list entry will be emailed to you.
Other databases useful for audiology topics
- Full text for more than 1,570 e-journals in the sciences and other disciplines, all peer reviewed, but also mixes in e-books which can be confusing
- The advanced search will let you limit to searching sections of documents (such as titles and abstracts), publication year, and formal (journal vs books and other items)
- Full text for more than 1800 social and natural science journals, but they are not all peer reviewed. No "peer review" search limit
- If you're wondering if a result is from a peer reviewed journal, click on the journal title to get to the page that describes that journal
PubMed (1953 to present)
- Very important guide to articles from more that 4,600 medical, health, and communication disorders journals - some peer reviewed, some not. No "peer reviewed" limit.
- Some full text (not very predictable). Once you identify an article, copy an article title and paste it into the red search box on the library home page to find out if we own it. Some results will have a View now link underneath (success!). For other results, click into the title to see if there is a call number (we only have print) or look for an Interlibrary Loan button (if we don't own the online or print version).
Other databases useful for communication science topics are listed on the library guide to Communication Sciences and Disorders.
Primal Pictures is an online guide to adult human gross anatomy. You can browse or search for images and explanatory text for papers, in class presentations, to make yourself a study guide, or for other coursework that won't be publicly posted for the general public to see.
Remember, always cite your sources :) If you use these images, Primal asks that you give them credit in your references list: 3D anatomy images copyright of Primal Pictures Ltd.
Please note - we have 5 concurrent "seats" to this site. Apologies if you are turned away, try again in 30 minutes. And if you are using this site, click "Logoff" on the top right corner of the start page when you're done.
Other tools for finding images are listed on this page. Remember to
1) Check "Terms" or "Copyright" link to make sure that you can use the image without asking
2) You give credit to the creators
Hint - .gov pages often have "public domain" content. The U.S. government likes to provide information and allow others to reuse it automatically, without having to ask permission, as long as you credit them as a source :)