The University of North Carolina at Greensboro
This is the "Databases" page of the "Economics Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Economics Resources   Tags: data, economics, statistics  

Last Updated: Jun 19, 2013 URL: http://uncg.libguides.com/eco Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Journal A-Z List

Journal A-Z List

This new tools replaced Journal Finder. Details on the new tool

Covers over 62,000 journals, magazines, and newspapers provided by the library or available for free.

 

What's New for 2013

Statista

Statista

  • Includes data from over 18,000 government, industry, and market research sources.
  • Also provides "dossier" collections of statistics, charts, and graphs on companies, industries, and markets, downloadable as PowerPoint files.
  • Data can be exported to Excel and charts can be exported as picture files or directly into PowerPoint.

IBIS

IBIS: 460 new specialized industry reports

  • In addition to the 700+ NAICS industry reports, the library now also funds 460 specialized reports.

Ebsco app

Ebsco app (free)

  • Download articles & reports from Business Source Complete & other Ebsco databases from your Apple or Android device.
  • To install, go to Ebsco's Academic Search Complete, select the app link at the bottom, and follow the directions. 

 

Economist: latest indicators

Get any article from the Economist in the library's Business Source Complete database.

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Economic Data: 5 U.S. & International Sources

Economic Data videoEconomic Data: U.S. & International

This video demonstrates five recommended sources for U.S. and international economic data: Historical Statistics of the United States, FRED, World DataBank, OECD iLibrary, and Euromonitor.

Article Databases

  • EconLit  
      
    Covers over 700 economics journals.
    Also covers books, dissertations, and working papers.
    Covers 1969-present
  • Business Source Complete  
      
    Our largest database for business articles.
    Covers scholarly journals, industry magazines, and general business magazines.
    Also includes company, industry, and country reports.
  • EconLit & Business Source Complete  
      
    Search the databases together.
  • Wall Street Journal (via ProQuest)  
      
    Provides the full text articles from the WSJ from 1982 to present.
    See below for older WSJ articles.
  • NBER Working Papers  
      
    Provides working papers from the National Bureau of Economic Research.
  • RePEc Ideas
    "Research Papers in Economics"
    Indexes working papers and articles in economics. Provides links to the full text when possible.
  • JSTOR
    Provides over 100 scholarly journals in business, economics, and finance.
    Coverage begins with the first issue, but usually does not include the last 3-5 years.
    Use Journal Finder to find access to the more recent issues.
  • Web of Science (Social Science Citation Index)
    Indexes over 2,200 social science journals, including many in business.
    Provides access to cited references, the footnotes to a scholarly article.
    Covers 1955-present.
  • Google Scholar
    Covers ejournal websites, institutional and disciplinary repositories, and books.
    Provides links to Journal Finder. (From off-campus, select "Scholar Preferences", search for "UNCG", select all the options, and "Save Preferences.")
    On-campus users will often get straight to the fulltext if the UNCG library subscribes to that ejournal).
  • SSRN: Social Science Research Network
    Provides descriptions of working and forthcoming papers.
    Also provides a "Electronic Paper Collection".
    Some content requires a subscription.
    UNCG doesn't have an institutional subscription, but check Journal Finder for any fee-based article you would like to see.

Data & Statistical Databases

  • Historical Statistics of the United States  
      
    Provides over 37,000 data series, covering population, work and welfare, economics, and governance, international relations, and more.
  • FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data)  
      
    Covers over 21,00 U.S. economic time series.
  • World DataBank (World Bank)  
      
    Covers thousands of indicators for over 200 countries and 18 county groups, from 1960 to one year ago. Includes social, economic, financial, natural resource, and environmental data.
  • Euromonitor Passport GMID  
      
    Provides statistics (including projections) and market research reports on countries, cities, companies, markets, and consumers.
  • UN Data  
      
    Provides over 30 numeric databases. Covers all topics studied by the United Nations.
  • Statista  
      
    Includes data from over 18,000 government, industry, and market research sources. Also provides "dossier" collections of statistics, charts, and graphs on companies, industries, and markets, downloadable as PowerPoint files.

Business Librarian:

Profile Image
Steve Cramer

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip