The University of North Carolina at Greensboro
This is the "Home" page of the "EndNote Desktop" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

EndNote Desktop  

Import references, organize them, and create in text citations and bibliographies.
Last Updated: Nov 15, 2013 URL: http://uncg.libguides.com/endnote Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Transferring References Between EndNote Desktop and EndNote Web

1. In EndNote desktop sidebar, click the Configure link under the EndNote heading

2. Enter your EndNote Web account information.

3. In EndNote desktop sidebar, click the Transfer link under the EndNote heading

Do not transfer EndNote desktop references with pdfs attached up to EndNote Web and back.  Your pdfs will be lost.

 

To use EndNote with MEDLINE (PubMed) References

The Medline database, whether you use the PubMed version or the Web of Knowledge version, only gives ABBREVIATED journal titles when providing references.  If you use a citation style such as APA, which requires the full journal title, then you need to take a number of steps in order to make EndNote display your journal titles properly in APA style.

 

You only need to take these steps one time with your library.

  1. Go to the Tools menu, then Open Terms List > Journal Term List
  2. If there are any entries under the terms tab highlight one, hit "Control A" to "Select all" then delete the existing terms
  3. Select the lists tab and choose Import list
  4. Navigate to the Medical Terms List.  On most Windows machines, the path will be something like this: My computer > C drive > Program files > EndNote > Terms List
  5. Select the Medical list and hit the Open button

 

 

What is EndNote?

EndNote allows you to import citations from library databases or from Google Scholar. You can then use EndNote with MS Word to automatically create in-text citations and bibliographies in hundreds of different citation styles.  There is currently an IPad version of EndNote - UNCG librarians have not yet used this version.

UNCG provides current students and employees with several versions of EndNote:

1. EndNote X6 is an application installed on library computers and in some ITS computer labs. EndNote X6 and EndNote X7 are available via the campus network through Run Advertised Programs.    NOTE: Currently the computers in ITS labs have an EndNote tab in Word allow you to use Cite While You Write and those in the library CITI lab do NOT have an EndNote tab inside MS Word.

Features:

  • You can import references from most library databases, from the library catalog, and from Google Scholar
  • Your references are stored in an "Endnote Library" file (.enl) that resides on your computer
  • You can attach PDF files to references in your EndNote library
  • You can organize your references into folders within your EndNote library
  • You can customize your EndNote library to display the full names of journals in references imported from PubMed
  • You can use the EndNote tab in MS Word to insert citations from your library, to auto-generate a bibliography, and to switch between citation styles - NOT CURRENTLY ON THE LIBRARY COMPUTERS but should be available in campus labs
  • There is a limit to the number of people allowed to use this application, so you may occasionally be shut out temporarily

2. EndNote Web lets you upload, organize, share, and format citations. You have to create your own EndNote Web account.

Features:

  • You can import references from most library databases and from Google Scholar
  • Your references are stored in your account at http://www.myendnoteweb.com
  • You can share your references with other EndNote Web users and allow them to edit your references
 

Getting EndNote Desktop

EndNote X6 is installed on log-in computers in campus computer labs

Under the Start button, all programs.  When you are finished working, you should have an EndNote library file and a .Data folder that is needed to make your EndNote library run.  Make sure that you take them with you!

  • Transfer your references to your EndNote Web account, if you have one
  • Drag and drop your EndNote Library and the .Data folder onto a flash/thumb/zip drive or store online. 
  • Compress your library and the .Data folder (File > Compressed library) and the resulting file can be attached to an email

You can use EndNote X4 or X5 "remotely" from your own computer through the Virtual Computing Lab IF you are already comfortable with remote desktopping (and are willing to wait for the program to install).  Due to reported difficulties in using this method, we recommend using EndNote Web instead.

  1. Log in with your UNCG user name and password
  2. Choose New Reservation then select UNCG EndNote X5
  3. Set the length of time you'd like to use the program.  The first time you connect, allow at least 10 minutes to connect and follow the instructions.
  4. When you see the "Connect" button, follow the instructions to log into the Virtual Computing Lab and launch EndNote

When you are finished working, you should have an EndNote library file and a .Data folder that is needed to make your EndNote library run.  Make sure that you take them with you!

  • Transfer your references to your EndNote Web account, if you have one
  • Compress your library and .Data folder (File > Compressed library) and the resulting file can be attached to an email

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Mary Krautter
Contact Info
Email me at mmkrautt@uncg.edu or call 336-256-0274
Send Email
 

Please rate this page

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip