Contents:
Journal Finder
Covers over 62,000 journals, magazines, and newspapers provided by the library or available for free.
What's New for 2013
Statista
- Includes data from over 18,000 government, industry, and market research sources.
- Also provides "dossier" collections of statistics, charts, and graphs on companies, industries, and markets, downloadable as PowerPoint files.
- Data can be exported to Excel and charts can be exported as picture files or directly into PowerPoint.
IBIS: 460 new specialized industry reports
- In addition to the 700+ NAICS industry reports, the library now also funds 460 specialized reports.

Ebsco app (free)
- Download articles & reports from Business Source Complete & other Ebsco databases from your Apple or Android device.
- To install, go to Ebsco's Academic Search Complete, select the app link at the bottom, and follow the directions.
Wall Street Journal headlines
Get any article from the WSJ for free from the library's Wall Street Journal (via ProQuest) subscription.
Loading...
Have feedback on this page?
Featured video: Benchmarking private company financials
Benchmarking Private Company & Start-Up Financials
This video demonstrates finding estimated annual sales for private companies using Hoovers, and benchmarking the financials of private companies and start-ups using RMA, BizMiner, & the Economic Census.
Article Databases
- Entrepreneurial Studies Source (Ebsco)Covers magazines, journals, ebooks, case studies, Datamonitor company profiles, and videos.
- Small Business Reference Center (Ebsco)Provides articles, industry reports, sample business plans, legal guidebooks, U.S. tax forms, and videos.
- Business Source Complete (Ebsco) Our largest database for business articles.
Covers scholarly journals, industry magazines, and general business magazines.
Also includes company, industry, and country reports. - General OneFile Covers 1000's of industry magazines, general business magazines, news wires, and scholarly journals.
- Wall Street Journal (via ProQuest) Provides the full text articles from the WSJ from 1982 to present.
See below for older WSJ articles. - Regional Business News (Ebsco)Covers over 80 U.S. regional and local business newspapers, and some U.S. business newswires.
- Triad Business JournalHomepage of the local business newspaper.
- LexisNexis Academic Covers international business newspapers, newswires, press releases, newsletters, and some industry magazines.
- Web of Science (Social Science Citation Index)Indexes over 2,200 social science journals, including many in business.
Provides access to cited references, the footnotes to a scholarly article.
Covers 1955-present. - Google ScholarCovers ejournal websites, institutional and disciplinary repositories, and books.
Provides links to Journal Finder. (From off-campus, select "Scholar Preferences", search for "UNCG", select all the options, and "Save Preferences.")
On-campus users will often get straight to the fulltext if the UNCG library subscribes to that ejounal). - SSRN: Social Science Research NetworkProvides descriptions of working and forthcoming papers.
Also provides a "Electronic Paper Collection".
Some content requires a subscription.
UNCG doesn't have an institutional subscription, but check Journal Finder for any fee-based article you would like to see.
Financial Databases
- BizMiner Provides detailed financials for business plans and industry research.
Covers 16,000 industries at national and regional levels. - RMA eStatement Studies Provides financial ratio benchmarks (FRB) and industry default probabilities (IDP), plus regional breakouts.
Covers around 340 U.S. industries, defined by NAICS codes.
RMA is the Risk Management Association. (Robert Morris and Associates once published this.) - IBISWorld Includes financial statistics on over 720 U.S. industries.
- Census Business & Industry ReportsA portal for all Census research on economic aspects, most based on NAICS codes.
Includes the Economic Census, County Business Patterns, Retail Trade, the Annual Survey of Manufactures, and other reports. - Economic Census 2007Conducted every five years (years ending in -2 and -7).
Covers statistics like:
* number of establishments, sales, payroll, and paid employees
* sales and payroll ratios
* value of shipments by industry and detailed product
* cost of materials
* retail sales by square foot
* product line sales (product mix data)
* sales size by firms
* concentration by largest firms
* sales by class of customer
* and other industry-specific data
Industry Databases
- IBISWorld Provides detailed U.S. industry reports at the 5-digit NAICS level (over 720 reports total).
- Small Business Reference Center (Ebsco)Provides industry reports from various publishers. Browsable by industry.
- Hoovers + Duns Provides the industry reports from First Research.
- Datamonitor/MarketLine Reports (via Business Source Complete) Provides over concise global 2,500 industry profiles. Reports from other publishers are also available.
- Business Insights: Essentials Provides reports on over 1,000 US and international industries.
- Euromonitor Passport GMID Provides reports on international consumer-oriented industries.
Particularly useful for the apparel, retailing, food, drink, consumer electronics, toys, travel, and personal care products industries. - Mintel Provides market and consumer research reports with a focus on the U.S. and Europe.
Also includes reports on the African-American, Asian-American, & U.S. Hispanic markets.
Requires you to set up a free profile the first time. - Statista Includes data from over 18,000 government, industry, and market research sources. Also provides "dossier" collections of statistics, charts, and graphs on companies, industries, and markets, downloadable as PowerPoint files.
Market Research Databases
- Euromonitor Passport GMID Provides reports and data on countries, companies, markets, consumers, and cities.
Particularly useful for the apparel, retailing, food, drink, consumer electronics, toys, travel, and personal care products industries. - Mintel Provides market and consumer research reports with a focus on the U.S. and Europe.
Also includes reports on the African-American, Asian-American, & U.S. Hispanic markets.
Requires you to set up a free profile the first time. - IBISWorld Provides detailed U.S. industry reports at the 5-digit NAICS level (over 720 reports total).
- DemographicsNow Covers U.S. population, age, race and ethnicity, income, housing, employment characteristics, and consumer expenditures.
Places can be compared and ranked.
Provides tables, graphs, pie charts, and maps. - SimplyMap Develop thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data (including MRI/Mediamark) variables.
Each user accesses SimplyMap through a "personal workspace"; you will need to create an account the first time you use it. - American FactFinder, U.S. Census Bureau The Census' search engine for population, housing, and economic data.
- Statista Includes data from over 18,000 government, industry, and market research sources. Also provides "dossier" collections of statistics, charts, and graphs on companies, industries, and markets, downloadable as PowerPoint files.
Private Company Databases
- Hoovers + Duns Covers 19 million U.S. and 69 million international establishments.
- Business Insights: Essentials A one-stop-shopping database for company and business research. Includes many SWOT analyses.
- LexisNexis AcademicProvides international company profiles from many sources.
Public Company Databases
- Mergent Online Provides detailed information on 15,000 U.S. public companies (active and inactive) and 20,000 public companies from over 80 other countries.
Provides pre-defined company reports and multiple-company reports.
Data and information can be downloaded or printed. - Datamonitor/MarketLine Reports (via Business Source Complete) Provides over 10,000 international company profiles (many including a SWOT analysis).
- Morningstar Investment Research Center Database Covers all stocks on the NYSE, NASDAQ, and ASE, and also 14,000 mutual funds.
Provides stock, fund, bond, and options data, plus Morningstar Analyst Reports, screeners, a portfolio x-ray, & more. - Business & Company Resource Center Provides downloadable financials for US and international public companies.
Provides easy comparisons to competitors. - Hoovers + Duns Covers 19 million U.S. and 69 million international establishments.
- Uniworld Covers U.S. companies operating in foreign countries, and foreign firms operating in the U.S.
Regulation, Licensing, & Law
- Licensing & Permitting in North CarolinaFrom thrivenc.com, NC Dept. of Commerce.
- Understand Business Law & Regulations (U.S. SBA)From the SBA "Starting a Business" guide.
- U.S. EPA Small Business Gateway (environmental)Includes a FAQ.
- elaws: Employment Laws Assistance for Workers & Small Business (U.S. Dept. of Labor)"Simulates the interaction you might have with an employment law expert." Also includes an Employment Law Guide.
- Legal Information Reference Center (Ebsco)Provides legal books from Nolo for business needs.
- Small Business Reference Center (Ebsco)Provides articles, industry reports, sample business plans, legal guidebooks, U.S. tax forms, and videos.
Sample Business Plans
- Business Plans HandbooksProvides over 1,000 real business plans.
Part of the Gale Virtual Reference Library. - Entrepreneurial Studies Source (Ebsco)Covers magazines, journals, ebooks, case studies, Datamonitor company profiles, and videos.
- Small Business Reference Center (Ebsco)Provides articles, industry reports, sample business plans, legal guidebooks, U.S. tax forms, and videos.
- Sample Business Plans from BplansProvides over 500 plans, from a software company than sells business plan software.
Search the Business Plans Handbooks
Search the Business Plans Handbooks via GVRL:
Business Librarian: |
|








Loading...
