Contents:
Journal Finder
Covers over 60,000 journals, magazines, and newspapers provided by the library or available for free.
What's New in 2012
4 new databases:
& Entrepreneurial Studies Source (sorry, no logo)
And an upgrade:
Business Source Premier is now:
More journals, magazines, industry reports, etc.
SWOT databases
Places to find SWOT analyses:
- Datamonitor Reports (via Business Source Complete)
Provides over 10,000 international company profiles (many including a SWOT analysis). - Business & Company Resource Center
A one-stop-shopping database for company and business research. Includes many SWOT analyses. - Euromonitor Passport GMID
Provides SWOTs for a number of companies.
Wall Street Journal headlines
Get any article from the WSJ for free from the library's Wall Street Journal (via ProQuest) subscription.
Harvard Business Review: new articles
Get any article from the Harvard Business Review in the library's Business Source Complete database.
Ask Us!
Have feedback on this page?
Featured Video: SWOT Analyses using Library Databases
Finding SWOTs from Three Library Databases
This video shows you how to find SWOT analyses in the Business Source Complete, Business & Company Resource Center, and Euromonitor Passport GMID databases.
Article Databases
- Business Source Complete (Ebsco)
Our largest database for business articles.
Covers scholarly journals, industry magazines, and general business magazines.
Also includes company, industry, and country reports. - General OneFile
Covers 1000's of industry magazines, general business magazines, news wires, and scholarly journals. - Wall Street Journal (via ProQuest)
Provides the full text articles from the WSJ from 1982 to present.
See below for older WSJ articles. - Small Business Reference Center (Ebsco)
Provides articles, industry reports, sample business plans, legal guidebooks, U.S. tax forms, and videos. - Entrepreneurial Studies Source (Ebsco)
Covers magazines, journals, ebooks, case studies, Datamonitor company profiles, and videos. - Greater Triad Business Journal/American City Business Journals
Provides the Greater Triad Area Business Journal, the Charlotte Business Journal, the Triangle Business Journal (Raleigh/Durham), and the other business newspapers from this publisher.
Includes the Book of Lists for all the cities covered. - Regional Business News (Ebsco)
Covers over 80 U.S. regional and local business newspapers, and some U.S. business newswires. - LexisNexis Academic
Covers international business newspapers, newswires, press releases, newsletters, and some industry magazines. - Web of Science (Social Science Citation Index)
Indexes over 2,200 social science journals, including many in business.
Provides access to cited references, the footnotes to a scholarly article.
Covers 1955-present. - Google Scholar
Covers ejournal websites, institutional and disciplinary repositories, and books.
Provides links to Journal Finder. (From off-campus, select "Scholar Preferences", search for "UNCG", select all the options, and "Save Preferences.")
On-campus users will often get straight to the fulltext if the UNCG library subscribes to that ejounal). - SSRN: Social Science Research Network
Provides descriptions of working and forthcoming papers.
Also provides a "Electronic Paper Collection".
Some content requires a subscription.
UNCG doesn't have an institutional subscription, but check Journal Finder for any fee-based article you would like to see.
Industry Databases
- IBISWorld
Provides detailed U.S. industry reports at the 5-digit NAICS level (over 720 reports total). - BizMiner
Provides detailed financials for business plans and industry research.
Covers 16,000 industries at national and regional levels. - Datamonitor Reports (via Business Source Complete)
Provides over 2,500 global industry profiles. Reports from other publishers are available, too. - Small Business Reference Center (Ebsco)
Provides industry reports from many publishers. Browsable by industry. - Hoovers + Duns
Provides industry reports from First Research. - Business & Company Resource Center
Provides reports on over 1,000 US and international industries. - Mergent Online
Provides reports on 20 industries for North America, Asia Pacific, Latin America, and Europe.
Look for these under the "Report Search" tab, and then the "Industry Reports" link. - Euromonitor Passport GMID
Provides reports on international consumer-oriented industries.
Particularly useful for the apparel, retailing, food, drink, consumer electronics, toys, travel, and personal care products industries. - Mintel
Provides market and consumer research reports with a focus on the U.S. and Europe.
Also includes reports on the African-American, Asian-American, & U.S. Hispanic markets.
Requires you to set up a free profile the first time. - Manufacturing & Distribution USA
Provides statistics, financial trends, and leading companies on 460 U.S. industries, listed by NAICS codes.
(6th edition, 2011)
Industry Ratios
Note that RMA & BizMiner are online; the other two sources are reference books in the library (first floor).
- RMA eStatement Studies
Provides financial ratio benchmarks (FRB) and industry default probabilities (IDP), plus regional breakouts.
Covers around 340 U.S. industries, defined by NAICS codes.
RMA is the Risk Management Association. (Robert Morris and Associates once published this.) - BizMiner
Provides ratios for 1000's industries. Look in the "Industry Financial Profiles" or "Micro Firm Profit & Loss Profiles." - Duns Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios (reference book)Ask for this at the library's Reference/AskUs desk, on the first floor.
Provides 32 performance indicators for over 800 products and services, arranged by SIC code.
Covers the most industries of any ratio source. - Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios (reference book)In the library's reference room at Ref HF5681.R25 T68. Save time and ask at the Reference Desk to be shown this.
Provides 50 performance indicators for 192 industries, organized by NAICS code.
Provides the most ratios per industry of any ratio source.
Management Databases
- Best Practices
Provides detailed summaries of best practice research conducted for major companies.
Covers business operations, customer service, human resources, e-commerce, sales and marketing, and knowledge management. - Management & Leadership Encyclopedias from Gale/Sage
Provides 7 encyclopedias, including the Encyclopedia of Management, Encyclopedia of Leadership, and the Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology. - Small Business Reference Center (Ebsco)
Provides articles, industry reports, sample business plans, legal guidebooks, U.S. tax forms, and videos. - Legal Information Reference Center (Ebsco)
Provides legal books from Nolo for business people. - Business Source Complete (Ebsco)
Our largest database for business articles.
Covers scholarly journals, industry magazines, and general business magazines.
Also includes company, industry, and country reports. - International Directory of Company Histories
Covers over 10,000 companies. Includes updates, so look for the most recent history of any company.
Market Research Databases
- Euromonitor Passport GMID
Provides reports and data on countries, companies, markets, consumers, and cities.
Particularly useful for the apparel, retailing, food, drink, consumer electronics, toys, travel, and personal care products industries. - Mintel
Provides market and consumer research reports with a focus on the U.S. and Europe.
Also includes reports on the African-American, Asian-American, & U.S. Hispanic markets.
Requires you to set up a free profile the first time. - IBISWorld
Provides detailed U.S. industry reports at the 5-digit NAICS level (over 720 reports total). - DemographicsNow
Covers U.S. population, age, race and ethnicity, income, housing, employment characteristics, and consumer expenditures.
Places can be compared and ranked.
Provides tables, graphs, pie charts, and maps. - SimplyMap
Develop thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data (including MRI/Mediamark) variables.
Each user accesses SimplyMap through a "personal workspace"; you will need to create an account the first time you use it. - American FactFinder, U.S. Census Bureau
The Census' search engine for population, housing, and economic data.
Private Company Databases
- Hoovers + Duns
Covers 19 million U.S. and 69 million international establishments. - Business & Company Resource Center
A one-stop-shopping database for company and business research. Includes many SWOT analyses. - LexisNexis Academic
Provides short Dun & Bradstreet profiles of private companies.
Public Company Databases
- Mergent Online
Provides detailed information on 15,000 U.S. public companies (active and inactive) and 20,000 public companies from over 80 other countries.
Provides pre-defined company reports and multiple-company reports.
Data and information can be downloaded or printed. - Hoovers + Duns
Covers 19 million U.S. and 69 million international establishments. - Datamonitor Reports (via Business Source Complete)
Provides over 10,000 international company profiles (many including a SWOT analysis). - Morningstar Investment Research Center Database
Covers all stocks on the NYSE, NASDAQ, and ASE, and also 14,000 mutual funds.
Provides stock, fund, bond, and options data, plus Morningstar Analyst Reports, screeners, a portfolio x-ray, & more. - Business & Company Resource Center
Provides downloadable financials for US and international public companies.
Provides easy comparisons to competitors. - International Directory of Company Histories
Covers over 10,000 companies. Includes updates, so look for the most recent history of any company.
Business & CARS librarian: |
br> |




Loading...







Loading...
