The University of North Carolina at Greensboro
This is the "Newspaper Finding Aids" page of the "Newspaper Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Newspaper Guide   Tags: databaes, news_alerting_services, newspapers  

Last Updated: Jun 12, 2014 URL: http://uncg.libguides.com/newspapers Print Guide RSS Updates

Newspaper Finding Aids Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask Us!

Chat requires JavaScript. If you are seeing this, we may be offline. Please check back later.
 

Find a Journal by Title--Journal A-Z List

To find a journal by title, enter the title here. You may also browse titles by their first letter.

Welcome!

In the boxes below this one are listed some of the general finding aids to help you locate a variety of newspapers.

Under each of the blue tabs above you'll find databases, indexes, and/or collections of current and historical newspapers for that category.

In addition you'll find...

North Carolina - Call numbers or film numbers for titles available in University Libraries, and links to current newspaper home pages

United States - Information on the 5 nationally-distributed papers, and UNCG Libraries locations for microforms of papers from other states

Foreign - Location information for about 20 current and historical newspapers available at UNCG

African American - Collections of African American historical newspapers plus UNCG microfilm holdings and locations for 10 newspapers

      

    Databases and Collections of Recent Newspapers

    • Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO)
      -Cover-to-cover full text for 149 national & international newspapers
      -Examples:
      New York Times, Boston Globe, San Francisco Chronicle, Christian Science
      Monitor, USA Today, Washington Post, The Times (London), Toronto Star, Irish
      Times
      -Provides selective full text for 410 U.S regional newspapers
      -Includes full-text television & radio news transcripts
    • LexisNexis Academic  
        
      -Full text of selected articles from a few hundred U.S. and international papers
      -In the "Search the News" widget select Newspapers from the "By Source Type" menu
      -Graphics from articles (photographs, charts, illustrations, etc.) are not provided
      -Part of a larger database covering newspapers, law journals, magazines media transcripts, and other sources
      -For help finding just NC newspapers click on the blue ball with the i above
    • Access World News - Research Collection (extended trial)
      -Full text of over 5100 local, regional, national U.S. newspapers
      -Provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community
      -Trial database. May be cancelled at any time
    • Newspaper Map
      -Catalog of all the prominent newspapers of the world arranged on a Google Map
      -Zoom-in to any region of the map, or use the search feature to see the names all of the major newspapers that are published from a particular region
      -Keep clicking on the colored balloon until the link to the specific newspaper appears
    • NEWSEUM
      -Displays the front pages of more than 800 newspapers each day on their websites
      -Archives pages with important stories from the last few years e.g. terrorist attacks, natural disasters, war in Iraq, health care reform, Olympics, deaths of prominent people, U.S. elections, the Pope, Super Bowl

    Historical Newspaper Databases

    • New York Times Historical
      -Full-image coverage from 1851 through the present except for the most recent three years
    • Nineteenth Century US Newspapers
      -Full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.
      -Collection encompasses the entire 19th century with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history,Western migration and the Antebellum-era, etc.
      -Searchable by subject, newspaper, date, and place of publication
    • Accessible Archives  
        
      -Full text of U.S. colonial and civil-war era newspapers captured cover-to-cover providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration
      -Click on the blue ball by the database name to see the titles that are included
    • America's Historical Newspapers  
        
      Hundreds of newspapers published from 1690-1876.
    • Chronicling America
      -Historic American Newspapers from the Library of Congress
      -State-level projects to locate, describe (catalog), and selectively preserve (via treatment and microfilm) historic newspaper collections in that state, published from 1690 to the present
      -Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1860-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present
    • Confederate Newspapers
      -Includes newspapers from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia and Alabama.
      - Covers 186-1868
    • North Carolina State Archives Digital Newspaper Collection
      Digital images of papers dating from 1752 to the 1890s.
    • Times (of London) Archive
      Full text of the newspaper from 1785 to 2006.
    • British Newspaper Archive
      Searchable full text newspapers from the British Library.

    Business Newspaper Databases

    • Regional Business News (Ebsco)
      - Full text of 65+ regional and local business newspapers
      -Graphics from articles (photographs, charts, illustrations, etc.) are not provided
      -Covers news, analysis, and information on local markets
    • American City Business Journals  
        
      Covers the Greater Triad Business Journal and 39 other newspapers.

    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    Mary Krautter
    Contact Info
    Email me at mmkrautt@uncg.edu or call 336-256-0274
    Send Email
     

    Feedback

    Was this information helpful?

    How useful is this page?
    (1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

    Additional comments:


    Your Email:


    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip