The University of North Carolina at Greensboro
This is the "Welcome" page of the "NUR 390 Culture and Health Care" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

NUR 390 Culture and Health Care   Tags: countries, cultures, health, health beliefs, health care, health practices  

Demographics, health beliefs/practices, health status, hc system, hc provider education, traveler/health care provider advice, focusing non-western and indigenous groups likely to be encountered in North Carolina or on a medical missionary trip.
Last Updated: May 21, 2014 URL: http://uncg.libguides.com/nur390 Print Guide RSS Updates

Welcome Print Page
  Search: 
 

Welcome!

The Ethnomed site has very nice cultural overviews designed for health care professionals. So does Dayer-Berenson's "Cultural competencies for nurses" and other transcultural nursing books.

Other background sources are linked in the Countries tab and the Health tab above.

The book search below can lead to other introductory information, and article searches to narrowly focused sources.

      
     

    Books in our library and beyond

    Ask Us!

    Advanced Search Options | A-Z Journal List | Site Index

    Choose Advanced search and limit to items AT UNCG that are RECENT.

    Type very general keywords related to your culture and the kind of info that you need

    vietnam* and transcultural nursing

    kenya* and health and cultur*

    hmong and culture

    hispanic and cultural competence

    There are many subjects that you can search, along with the name of a cultural group or geographical location: health care, medical care, transcultural medical care, transcultural nursing, delivery of health care, health attitudes, health behavior.

    You may see books, ebooks, even some articles. This system describes items at 70,000 other UNC and WorldCat Libraries (if you do not carefully limit your search).

     

    Search for full text articles from health databases

    Health and Health Care Articles

     

    Searches for full text articles (scholarly, professional, or popular) from: CINAHL, Health Source, Medline, PsycInfo, and PsycArticles. Hints:

    • Use AND between ideas, for instance - vietnam* and traditional medicine
    • In results sidebar, uncheck "full text" if you need more results (some new results will then have a "check for full text" link)
    • In results sidebar, use the slider to limit to recent articles

    Interdisciplinary encyclopedia articles, magazines and newspapers

    • Academic Search Complete(EBSCO)
      Includes magazines such as Newsweek, U.S. News and World Report, and USA Today. Also includes journals! Use sidebar limits for different types of publications.
    • LexisNexis Academic
      National and international news sources. Try the "all news" search if you'd like to limit to most recent 5 years, articles with at least 5 mentions of your keywords, etc.
    • Gale Virtual Reference Library
      Use ADVANCED search to limit to recent results. Try a topics such as

      vietnam* and customs
      japan* and cultur*

    Health Sciences Librarian

    Profile Image
    Lea Leininger
     

    Review/Feedback

    Did you get basic information about using library resources? Please answer these questions and let me know.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip