The University of North Carolina at Greensboro
This is the "Home" page of the "Community and Therapeutic Recreation Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Community and Therapeutic Recreation Resources   Tags: parks_management, recreation, therapeutic_recreation  

Last Updated: Oct 8, 2013 URL: http://uncg.libguides.com/rth Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

RPM Classes

Some classes I have taught

 

  Ask Us!

The person you're chatting with in this box may not be the person you see on this page, but we can still help you!

 

On Being a Reference Librarian

 

Welcome

This guide will help you find resources related to Recreation, Tourism and Hospitality Management. If you have any questions, please use our library's Ask Us! service, or contact me personally.

On this page you will find databases that can provide you with useful articles on CTR topics.

On the Finding Books tab, you will find the library catalog and WorldCat, a database of library holdings worldwide.

On the Electronic Journals tab, you can see a list of e-journals, both for Recreation and Parks Management and for Therapeutic Recreation.

On the APA Style tab,  you will find information about organizing and formatting your reference lists, for papers, projects, etc.

Finding Articles: Important CTR/RPM Resources

SPORTDiscus

  • Probably the best all-around database for all aspects of recreation. Indexes and abstracts most major journals in the field.
  • 1975 - present
  • More info

Physical Education Index 

  • Covers physical fitness, health, and sports medicine.
  • Indexes journals, conference proceedings, web sites, books, reports, dissertations, and patents.
  • International in scope.

Academic Search Complete

  • Our largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary, full-text database.
  • Covers social sciences, humanities, general science, and education.
  • Abstracts and indexes over 13,000 journals .
  • Provides the full text of over 9,000 journals (over 7,700 of those are peer-reviewed).
  • About 100 titles indexed from 1975 or earlier; most titles available in full-text from 1990.
  • Covers 1984 through present. Some titles indexed 1975-present. Most full-text 1990-present.

Academic OneFile (InfoTrac)

Indexes over 13,000 publications.

  • Provides full-text articles from nearly 9,000 of the publications indexed
  • Covers approximately 1980-present, with some titles going back much further.
  • More info

LexisNexis

  • Full-text articles from over 7500 journals, magazines, transcripts, newspapers, newsletters, and other sources.
  • Business section useful for commercial recreation.
  • More info

NC LIVEProQuest Direct

  • Includes indexing, abstracts for business journals, general periodicals, and newspapers.
  • Includes some full text
  • More info

 

Finding Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers

To get into a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper:

1. You can search worldcat for the journal title. Limit to UNCG and Journal,magazine

2. You can search journal title in the Journal A to Z list

Please note that some journals, magazines, and newspapers have changed names over time.  If you want to find the evening edition of the Greensboro newspaper from 1910, type the title from that time: Greensboro Record.

      

    My Profile

    Profile Image
    Mark Schumacher
    Contact Info
    Phone: (336) 334-3215
    mark_schumacher@uncg.edu
    151 Jackson Library
    About Your Librarian:
    A scholar of the Boston artist/book designer Amy Sacker. See http://www.amysacker.net
     

    Mark on Facebook

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip