The University of North Carolina at Greensboro

Scopus: About

Scopus is a citation and abstracting database that provides coverage of the peer-reviewed journal and conference literature, with links to full-text where available through the library.

What is Scopus?

Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
 

  • Over 20,500 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide
  • Contains 49 million records, 78% with abstracts going back to 1996
  • Includes over 5.3 million conference papers
  • Provides 100% Medline coverage
  • Updated daily
     

More on Scopus content

Why use Scopus?

1. Search for:

  • Scientific and scholarly articles
  • Citations of articles (from 1996-)
  • Citation score of authors (e.g., H-index)
     

2. Set up search, document citation and author citation alerts

 

3. Analyze data

  • Provides author, article and journal ranking analysis
  • Can also analyze by institution, e.g., discover top authors
  • Most citation data and ranking is based on information since 1996.

Scopus versus Web of Science

scopus vs web of science

Sources

  1. Comparison of Scopus trial and Web of Science subscription, June 2014
  2. Scopus Content Overview: http://www.elsevier.com/online-tools/scopus/content-overview#content-overview
  3. Web of Science Core Collection: http://wokinfo.com/products_tools/multidisciplinary/webofscience

Finding SJR Rankings by Subject

Science Liaison Librarian

Karen Stanley Grigg

Contact:
ksgrigg@uncg.edu
336-256-8585