The University of North Carolina at Greensboro
This is the "Home" page of the "Education in North Carolina" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Education in North Carolina   Tags: archives, education, higher education, history, north carolina, teacher education, teachers, uncg  

An archival research guide on Education in North Carolina
Last Updated: Jul 16, 2013 URL: http://uncg.libguides.com/scua_education_nc Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Quote

“Section 1. The object of this association shall be to unite the women citizens of North Carolina for the purpose of awaking their interest in the improvement of public schoolhouses in our State.  It will undertake to have local associations in every county.  Through these it will endeavor to interest a volunteer association in the neighborhood of every public school house, which will help to beautify the premises by planting trees and flowers, placing pictures on the walls, or otherwise improving the school environment of our future citizens’ to furnish entertaining and instructive amusements and to encourage the establishment of local public libraries.”

                                                   --Constitution of the Woman’s Association for the Betterment of Public Schoolhouses in North Carolina, 1910

 

Overview:

            The Martha Blakeney Hodges Special Collections and University Archives at The University of North Carolina at Greensboro (UNCG) contain a number of primary and secondary source material related to education in North Carolina.  Founded as a school to educate women in 1891, the University Archives’ collections focus mainly on women and their connection to education in North Carolina.  There are a wide variety of resources available to researchers on the topic is including manuscript collections, oral histories, photographs, and books. The following is a list of resources to aid researchers in learning about the extensive collections that Special Collections and University Archives has to offer regarding education in North Carolina.

 

Contact Us

Please contact staff when planning a research visit, class tour, or class workshop.

Hours: Monday - Friday 9AM - 5PM

Phone: 334-336-5246

Fax: 336-334-5399

Email: scua@uncg.edu


Mailing Address
Martha Blakeney Hodges Special Collections and University Archives
The University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Walter Clinton Jackson Library
P.O. Box 26170
Greensboro, NC 27402

Hodges Reading Room Event Calendar

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip