The University of North Carolina at Greensboro
This is the "Home" page of the "Oral Histories" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
An archival research guide on oral histories in Special Collections and University Archives
Last Updated: Jul 18, 2013 URL: http://uncg.libguides.com/scua_oral_histories Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Quote

An interview that records an individual's personal recollections of the past and historical events

                                                    --Society of American 

Archivists Dictionary


 

 

Overview:

           The Special Collections and University Archives department at UNCG serves as a primary resource for information related to the history of UNCG and Greensboro.  A subset of the department is the Betty H. Carter Women’s Veterans Historical Project which seeks to document the female experience in the Armed Forces.  Both departments, in their effort to preserve history, have actively conducted and collected oral histories covering a broad range of topics. They have been recorded using cassette tapes, CD’s and video and a large portion of the oral histories in the collections have been transcribed for ease of use by researchers.   The following is a guide to help researchers in learning about the extensive collection of oral histories that Special Collections and University Archives has to offer by providing a selected list of available resources.

 

Recent Additions to Oral History Collections

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Contact Us

Please contact staff when planning a research visit, class tour, or class workshop.

Hours: Monday - Friday 9AM - 5PM

Phone: 334-336-5246

Fax: 336-334-5399

Email: scua@uncg.edu


Mailing Address
Martha Blakeney Hodges Special Collections and University Archives
The University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Walter Clinton Jackson Library
P.O. Box 26170
Greensboro, NC 27402

Hodges Reading Room Event Calendar

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip