The University of North Carolina at Greensboro
This is the "Home" page of the "Physical Education" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
An archival research guide on Physical Education in Special Collections and University Archives
Last Updated: Jul 22, 2013 URL: http://uncg.libguides.com/scua_physical_education Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Quote

“The aim of the work in Physical Education is to correct careless physical habits, develop the body symmetrically, and give to the student that erect, strong, reliant, dignified, graceful carriage and deportment that always characterize the cultured woman.”

     --1895-96 Annual Catalogue of the State Normal and Industrial School

 

Overview:

            The Martha Blakeney Hodges Special Collections and University Archives at The University of North Carolina at Greensboro (UNCG) contains a number of primary and secondary source materials related to physical education including dance, gymnastics activities, and sports.  When Charles Duncan McIver founded the State Normal and Industrial School (now UNCG) in 1891, he was well aware of the importance of physical education.  Courses in health and physical education were first taught through the Department of Physiology  and Physical Culture.  In addition to classes, the students were required to take a daily “walking period” of forty-five minutes to get exercise.  While the arrival of intercollegiate athletics in the 1960s at UNCG has increased the awareness of sports on campus, this guide focuses only on the concept of physical education as it related to curriculum and to student recreation.  This guide is a list of resources to help researchers in learning about the extensive materials that Special Collections and University Archives has to offer regarding physical education at UNCG and across the discipline, especially with a focus on the early childhood education movement. For more information on intercollegiate athletics at UNCG, please refer to the “Athletics” research guide. 

 

Contact Us

Please contact staff when planning a research visit, class tour, or class workshop.

Hours: Monday - Friday 9AM - 5PM

Phone: 334-336-5246

Fax: 336-334-5399

Email: scua@uncg.edu


Mailing Address
Martha Blakeney Hodges Special Collections and University Archives
The University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Walter Clinton Jackson Library
P.O. Box 26170
Greensboro, NC 27402

Hodges Reading Room Event Calendar

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip