Contents:
Journal Finder
Covers over 62,000 journals, magazines, and newspapers provided by the library or available for free.
What's New for 2013
Statista
- Includes data from over 18,000 government, industry, and market research sources.
- Also provides "dossier" collections of statistics, charts, and graphs on companies, industries, and markets, downloadable as PowerPoint files.
- Data can be exported to Excel and charts can be exported as picture files or directly into PowerPoint.
IBIS: 460 new specialized industry reports
- In addition to the 700+ NAICS industry reports, the library now also funds 460 specialized reports.

Ebsco app (free)
- Download articles & reports from Business Source Complete & other Ebsco databases from your Apple or Android device.
- To install, go to Ebsco's Academic Search Complete, select the app link at the bottom, and follow the directions.
Wall Street Journal headlines
Get any article from the WSJ for free from the library's Wall Street Journal (via ProQuest) subscription.
Loading...
Featured Video: Market Research Reports using UNCG Databases
Market Research Reports using Library Databases
Three UNCG databases provide market research reports: Mintel, Euromonitor, and IBIS. This video shows you how to find those reports, and illustrates the high value of these library subscriptions.
Article Databases
- Hospitality & Tourism Complete (Ebsco)Covers over 500 journals and industry magazines.
- Business Source Complete (Ebsco) Our largest database for business articles.
Covers scholarly journals, industry magazines, and general business magazines.
Also includes company, industry, and country reports. - Hospitality and Tourism Complete & Business Source CompleteSearch the databases together.
- General OneFile Covers 1000's of industry magazines, general business magazines, news wires, and scholarly journals.
- Wall Street Journal (via ProQuest) Provides the full text articles from the WSJ from 1982 to present.
See below for older WSJ articles. - Small Business Reference Center (Ebsco)Provides articles, industry reports, sample business plans, legal guidebooks, U.S. tax forms, and videos.
- Regional Business News (Ebsco)Covers over 80 U.S. regional and local business newspapers, and some U.S. business newswires.
- Triad Business JournalHomepage of the local business newspaper.
- LexisNexis Academic Covers international business newspapers, newswires, press releases, newsletters, and some industry magazines.
- Web of Science (Social Science Citation Index)Indexes over 2,200 social science journals, including many in business.
Provides access to cited references, the footnotes to a scholarly article.
Covers 1955-present. - Google ScholarCovers ejournal websites, institutional and disciplinary repositories, and books.
Provides links to Journal Finder. (From off-campus, select "Scholar Preferences", search for "UNCG", select all the options, and "Save Preferences.")
On-campus users will often get straight to the fulltext if the UNCG library subscribes to that ejounal).
Industry Ratios
Note that RMA & BizMiner are online; the other two sources are reference books in the library (first floor).
- RMA eStatement Studies Provides financial ratio benchmarks (FRB) and industry default probabilities (IDP), plus regional breakouts.
Covers around 340 U.S. industries, defined by NAICS codes.
RMA is the Risk Management Association. (Robert Morris and Associates once published this.) - BizMiner Provides financial benchmarks and ratios for 1000's industries. Look in the "Industry Financial Profiles" or "Micro Firm Profit & Loss Profiles."
- Duns Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios (reference book)Ask for this at the library's Reference/AskUs desk, on the first floor.
Provides 32 performance indicators for over 800 products and services, arranged by SIC code.
Covers the most industries of any ratio source. - Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios (reference book)In the library's reference room at Ref HF5681.R25 T68. Save time and ask at the Reference Desk to be shown this.
Provides 50 performance indicators for 192 industries, organized by NAICS code.
Provides the most ratios per industry of any ratio source.
Industry Reports
- IBISWorld Provides detailed U.S. industry reports at the 5-digit NAICS level (over 720 reports total).
- BizMiner Provides detailed financials for business plans and industry research.
Covers 16,000 industries at national and regional levels. - Hoovers + Duns Provides industry reports from First Research.
- Datamonitor/MarketLine Reports (via Business Source Complete) Provides over 2,500 global industry profiles. Reports from other publishers are also available.
- Small Business Reference Center (Ebsco)Provides industry reports from various publishers. Browsable by industry.
- Business Insights: Essentials Provides reports on over 1,000 US and international industries.
- Mergent Online Provides reports on 20 industries for North America, Asia Pacific, Latin America, and Europe.
Look for these under the "Report Search" tab, and then the "Industry Reports" link. - Euromonitor Passport GMID Provides reports on international consumer-oriented industries.
Particularly useful for the apparel, retailing, food, drink, consumer electronics, toys, travel, and personal care products industries. - Statista Includes data from over 18,000 government, industry, and market research sources. Also provides "dossier" collections of statistics, charts, and graphs on companies, industries, and markets, downloadable as PowerPoint files.
- Mintel Provides market and consumer research reports with a focus on the U.S. and Europe.
Also includes reports on the African-American, Asian-American, & U.S. Hispanic markets.
Requires you to set up a free profile the first time.
Management Databases
- Management & Leadership Encyclopedias from Gale/SageProvides 7 encyclopedias, including the Encyclopedia of Management, Encyclopedia of Leadership, and the Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology.
- Small Business Reference Center (Ebsco)Provides articles, industry reports, sample business plans, legal guidebooks, U.S. tax forms, and videos.
- Legal Information Reference Center (Ebsco)Provides legal books from Nolo for business needs.
- Business Source Complete (Ebsco) Our largest database for business articles.
Covers scholarly journals, industry magazines, and general business magazines.
Also includes company, industry, and country reports. - International Directory of Company HistoriesCovers over 10,000 companies. Includes updates, so look for the most recent history of any company.
Market Research Databases
- Mintel Provides market and consumer research reports with a focus on the U.S. and Europe.
Also includes reports on the African-American, Asian-American, & U.S. Hispanic markets.
Requires you to set up a free profile the first time. - Euromonitor Passport GMID Provides reports and data on countries, companies, markets, consumers, and cities.
Particularly useful for the apparel, retailing, food, drink, consumer electronics, toys, travel, and personal care products industries. - IBISWorld Provides detailed U.S. industry reports at the 5-digit NAICS level (over 720 reports total).
- DemographicsNow Covers U.S. population, age, race and ethnicity, income, housing, employment characteristics, and consumer expenditures.
Places can be compared and ranked.
Provides tables, graphs, pie charts, and maps. - SimplyMap Develop thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data (including MRI/Mediamark) variables.
Each user accesses SimplyMap through a "personal workspace"; you will need to create an account the first time you use it. - Statista Includes data from over 18,000 government, industry, and market research sources. Also provides "dossier" collections of statistics, charts, and graphs on companies, industries, and markets, downloadable as PowerPoint files.
- American FactFinder, U.S. Census Bureau The Census' search engine for population, housing, and economic data.
Private Company Databases
- Hoovers + Duns Covers 19 million U.S. and 69 million international establishments.
- Business Insights: Essentials A one-stop-shopping database for company and business research. Includes many SWOT analyses.
- LexisNexis AcademicProvides international company profiles from many sources.
Public Company Databases
- Mergent Online Provides detailed information on 15,000 U.S. public companies (active and inactive) and 20,000 public companies from over 80 other countries.
Also provides equity reports, global industry reports, SEC filings in many formats, executive biographies, historic annual reports, historic stock prices (graphs and tables), and more. - Datamonitor Reports (via Business Source Complete) Provides over 10,000 international company profiles (many including a SWOT analysis).
- Business & Company Resource Center A one-stop-shopping database for company and business research. Includes many SWOT analyses.
- Hoovers + Duns Covers 19 million U.S. and 69 million international establishments.
- Morningstar Investment Research Center Database Covers all stocks on the NYSE, NASDAQ, and ASE, and also 14,000 mutual funds.
Provides stock, fund, bond, and options data, plus Morningstar Analyst Reports, screeners, a portfolio x-ray, & more. - Euromonitor Passport GMID Covers international companies in consumer-oriented industries including retailing, travel, food and drink, electronics, and others. Includes some SWOT analyses.
- Uniworld Covers U.S. companies operating in foreign countries, and foreign firms operating in the U.S.
Regulation, Licensing, & Law
- Licensing & Permitting in North CarolinaFrom thrivenc.com, NC Dept. of Commerce.
- Understand Business Law & Regulations (U.S. SBA)From the SBA "Starting a Business" guide.
- U.S. EPA Small Business Gateway (environmental)Includes a FAQ.
- elaws: Employment Laws Assistance for Workers & Small Business (U.S. Dept. of Labor)"Simulates the interaction you might have with an employment law expert." Also includes an Employment Law Guide.
- Legal Information Reference Center (Ebsco)Provides legal books from Nolo for business needs.
- Small Business Reference Center (Ebsco)Provides articles, industry reports, sample business plans, legal guidebooks, U.S. tax forms, and videos.
Sample Business Plans
- Business Plans HandbooksProvides over 1,000 real business plans.
Part of the Gale Virtual Reference Library. - Entrepreneurial Studies Source (Ebsco)Covers magazines, journals, ebooks, case studies, Datamonitor company profiles, and videos.
- Small Business Reference Center (Ebsco)Provides articles, industry reports, sample business plans, legal guidebooks, U.S. tax forms, and videos.
- Sample Business Plans from BplansProvides over 500 plans, from a software company than sells business plan software.
Search the Business Plans Handbooks
Search the Business Plans Handbooks via GVRL:
Business Librarian: |
|









Loading...
