UNCG students and faculty: access online streaming films or music from a variety of free and subscription resources. Faculty - make sure you aren't ripping that DVD and violating copyright - instead try one of these sources . Off campus users: You will need to use your UNCG username and password to login and acccess these resources.
The library will help facilitate the acquisition of streaming film rights ONLY when the purchase is for perpetual ownership of the streaming film.
Any acquisitions of streaming films will be purchased through the department's material budget.
In light of restricted budgets, if the streaming film isn't available for permanent ownership then the library will attempt to direct the faculty member toward resources for pricing and purchasing options.
Ambrose Videos - For students, faculty or staff at UNCG libraries the over 1,200 streaming films from Ambrose Video Publishing are available for you to view from anywhere. These video clips and programs cover nine subjects from art, to economics, to science and have unlimited synchronous users. The most popular collections include: The BBC Shakespeare Plays, A History of Christianity: The First Three Thousand Years, The Ancient History series, Human body: The Sensory System, and Healing and the Mind. Faculty - you can link these videos into your Blackboard classes.
Academic Video Online - This link searches cross platform for all 5000+ Alexander Street Press videos. These collections have unlimited synchronous users, and can also be embedded into Blackboard courses too. Faculty - another cool feature is that you can create your own clips. You have to first create your own person sign in ... but then you can create a clip of a video for your class, create notes annotating along with the clip, and then save and add to your course in Blackboard.
Search Alexander Street Press specific collections:
Docuseek2 - A new, exclusive streaming source for top documentaries, independently produced in the US and around the world. It is the internet site where colleges, universities, and other educational institutions can discover, access, license, stream and share amongst their students, faculty and staff, the best documentary and social issues films and videos available. Docuseek2 features films from Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, Kartemquin Films, Collective Eye, Terra Nova Films and Fanlight Collection.
EVIA Digital Archive Project - This project is a joint effort of Indiana University and the University of Michigan to establish a digital archive of ethnographic video which have undergone a scholarly review process. The Archive acts as a repository for unedited ethnographic video recordings with ongoing growth of collections as scholars works get added from various stages of completion. These resources are for educational purposes only so EVIA requires you to create your own login and password verifying you are a student or using this for a course.
Films On Demand - A very popular subscription with over 3700 of Humanities and Social Science subject films and documentaries in areas such as anthropology, history, geography and music. With unlimited synchronous access, any UNCG authenticated student or faculty member can view, and they can be easily added to any Blackboard course by grabbing the “title URL” in the box below the video you want to use.
Kanopy - A leading distributor of online educational videos. Major subjects covered include: the arts, business and training, health sciences, media and communication, natural sciences, social sciences, and teacher education. Users can search, browse and see previews of videos.
Ideas Roadshow - In-depth conversations with some of the most celebrated thinkers across the arts and sciences, combining personal reflections with professional insights. They produce long-form videos and audio files, together with comprehensive, enhanced eBooks to best illustrate the topics under discussion to the non-specialist.
PBS Films (Via NC Live) - This collection is available through our statewide NCLIVE consortium and includes films from award winning documentarian Ken Burns, and series such as Scientific American Frontiers, American Experience, Masterpiece Theatre, Eyes on the Prize, and Frontline. These videos are available using video stream and require Adobe Flash Player Version 9.0 or higher.
Shoah Foundation Visual History Archive - The collection includes nearly 52,000 video testimonies collected in 32 languages and from 56 countries by the USC Shoah Foundation Institute and has unlimited synchronous viewing. You have to create your own personal login to use this resource. Does not work well in a Chrome browser.
SWANK Digital Campus - Collection consists of over 17,000 popular Hollywood type films from almost every studio (except Fox who won’t give rights to educators). This subscription is slightly different than the others as these are for instructors only and viewable for students only through their Blackboard courses. For help see our Digital Campu guide tababove!