The University of North Carolina at Greensboro
This is the "Home" page of the "World War II Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

World War II Resources   Tags: history, uncg, womens_history, world war ii, world_war_ii  

This guide provides an overview of World War II-related materials in the Martha Blakeney Hodges Special Collections and University Archives.
Last Updated: Jul 12, 2013 URL: http://uncg.libguides.com/wwii Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Making North Carolina Literate

 

 Making North Carolina literate : the University of North Carolina at Greensboro from normal school to metropolitan university

Making North Carolina Literate: The University of North Carolina at Greensboro from Normal School to Metropolitan University by the late Allen W. Trelease, is the history of UNCG from 1891-1994. Written  from research conducted in University Archives, Professor Trelease's book is often called the bible of university history and proves essential to any investigation into UNCG's past. A copy is available in the Jackson Library as well as the Hodges Reading Room.

 

 

The Contents of this Guide

The World War II library guide consists of several categories including Archives, Women Veterans, Manuscripts, Rare Books, and the Cello Collection. This cross-collection composition will allow for students, researchers, and engaged citizens to see all of the university's holdings on life at the college and community during World War II, as well as give the reader a larger understanding of life in the nation and world during this same period.

 

Context

The University of North Carolina at Greensboro has grown and changed in many ways over the years. The school's name alone is a testament to this. In 1891, UNCG was founded as State Normal and Industrial School. In 1897, there was a slight change to State Normal and Industrial College. The college saw a name change again in 1919 when it became North Carolina College for Women. Then in 1932 the school was again rechristened, this time as Woman's College of the University of North Carolina. This name lasted for over thirty years until 1963 when it was given its current rendition: The University of North Carolina at Greensboro.

In the same way, the title of the university's leader has changed over the years. It began as president in 1892, changed to dean of administration in 1934, and lastly, with the conclusion of World War II, it became chancellor, the title continuously granted to UNCG's executive ever sense.

In order to orient this research guide in time and place, year-appropriate titles of the school, leadership, and other fixtures of the institution itself will be used throughout.  

 

Air Raid Instructions

 

Research Poll

Which Collection Did You Find Most Helpful In Your Research?






 

Contact

If you have any questions, concerns, or comments about this library guide, please feel free to contact the staff of the Martha Blakeney Hodges Special Collections & University Archives by phone at (336) 334-5246, by fax at (336) 334-5399, or by email at scua@uncg.edu. You can also visit their website: http://library.uncg.edu/info/depts/scua/.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip